Five UCLA Women's Water Polo Players Secure All-Academic Honors

July 6, 2010

BREA, Calif. - Juniors Megan Burmeister, Kelly Easterday and Katie Estrada, sophomore KK Clark and freshman Leah Trella have been named All-Academic honorees, as announced this week by the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC).

Easterday has been named an ACWPC All-Academic honoree for the third time in her career. Estrada has secured the academic honor for the second consecutive season. Burmeister, Clark and Trella have been named All-Academic selections for the first time.

Easterday and Estrada highlight UCLA's five academic honorees as "superior" selections. Burmeister, Clark and Trella have been honored as "excellent" academic selections.

Among UCLA's most prolific scorers and talented defenders, Easterday finished her junior campaign with 23 goals, the fourth-highest total on the team. She scored at least one goal in 17 of the team's 30 contests.

Estrada finished with five goals, including two in an NCAA Tournament victory against Marist. Burmeister added 16 goals, totaling two goals in two matches (versus Cal State Northridge and Arizona State).

Clark finished third on the team with 31 goals, earning All-NCAA Tournament Team honors after collecting eight goals in three tournament matches (including four versus Marist on May 15).

Trella collected 14 goals as a freshman, registering at least four goals in each of four matches (including two three goals games - versus UC San Diego and against Sonoma State).

The ACWPC selects three All-Academic teams each season - outstanding (3.71 - 4.00 GPA), superior (3.41 - 3.70 GPA) and excellent (3.20 - 3.40 GPA).

UCLA closed its 2010 season with a 22-8 overall record after having won the MPSF Tournament title.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 17 - 4
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 22 - 5
Sunday, Mar 06
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 9 - 5
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 20 - 5
Sunday, Mar 20
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
W, 23 - 2
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
W, 25 - 3
Saturday, Apr 09
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 8
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 16 - 6
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 8 (3OT)
Friday, Apr 29
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
W, 10 - 3
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Stanford
Bakersfield, CA
L, 3 - 6
Sunday, May 01
vs. California
Bakersfield, CA
W, 7 - 5
Friday, May 13
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 17 - 4
Saturday, May 14
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 7
Sunday, May 15
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS