NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
UCLA's Krsto Sbutega Named Peter J. Cutino Award Finalist

Dec. 16, 2008

SAN FRANCISCO - Senior attacker Krsto Sbutega has been selected as one of three finalists for the Peter J. Cutino Men's National Player of the Year Award, as announced by The Olympic Club. Sbutega led the Bruins with 50 goals in 2008 before earning first-team All-MPSF team honors.

Sbutega joins USC's J.W. Krumpholz and Stanford's Jimmie Sandman as the three male finalists for the 2008 Peter J. Cutino Award, an accolade presented annually to the outstanding male and female collegiate water polo players in the United States. This year's selection will take place at The Olympic Club's City Clubhouse in San Francisco.

A senior in 2008, Sbutega captured All-MPSF honors for the third-consecutive season - Sbutega was a first-team selection in 2006 and 2008 and gained second-team honors in 2007. The resident of Kotor, Montenegro finished his senior campaign with 50 goals on 124 attempts, scoring at a 40 percent clip.

Sbutega started all 24 matches in 2008, leading the Bruins with 25 steals and 14 assists. The senior attacker scored in each of UCLA's final 12 games, totaling 28 goals in that span.

Sbutega's 50 goals were the most by a Bruin since Brett Ormsby logged 70 goals in 2004. With his three-goal effort against Stanford in the MPSF Tournament's third-place match on Nov. 30, Sbutega moved into fifth place on UCLA's career goals list with 143.

The UCLA men's water polo program has had one two-time Cutino Award winner - Sean Kern, who earned the award in 2000 and 2001.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events