UCLA's Abid in Singles and doubles finals at Sherwood

Jan. 14, 2007

Thousand Oaks, Calif. - UCLA men's tennis player Haythem Abid will be playing in the finals of both singles and doubles at the Sherwood Collegiate Cup on Monday.

Abid, a sophomore, downed USC's Kaes Van't Hof, 6-3, 6-1 in Sunday's singles semifinals. He will face another USC player, Dejan Cvetkovic, in Monday's final.

Abid and sophomore Michael Look will also be playing for a title in doubles on Monday. They will meet teammates Philipp Gruendler and Benjamin Kohlloeffel.

Monday's singles final will begin at 11:00 a.m. with the doubles final immediately afterwards.

On the women's side, UCLA is competing at the Freeman Memorial Championships in Las Vegas, Nev. After play was shortened on Friday and completely cancelled on Saturday due to weather, three Bruin players were in singles action on Sunday. Ashley Joelson, Alex McGoodwin, Stephanie Wetmore and Anna-Viktoria Lind all lost first-round singles matches in the Flight-I draw.

UCLA also has players competing at the National Collegiate Tennis Classic in Indian Wells, Calif., where feshman Yasmin Schnack will be playing in Monday's singles final.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS