Men's Tennis Downs No. 20 Washington, 5-2

April 1, 2011

LOS ANGELES - The No. 16 UCLA men's tennis team picked up its first Pac-10 win of the season on Friday, registering a 5-2 victory over No. 20 Washington at the Los Angeles Tennis Center. With the win, the Bruins up their record to 12-5 overall and 1-2 in conference play, while the Huskies see their record fall to 14-6 and 1-1 in the Pac-10.

UCLA pulled out a huge win at court No. 1 to claim the doubles point on Friday. After both teams split wins at court Nos. 2 and 3, UCLA's Alex Brigham and Adrien Puget fought off two match points to upset 31st-ranked Kyle McMorrow and Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, 9-8(7). Brigham and Puget were trailing 4-6 in that decisive tiebreaker.

Fortunately for UCLA, singles wasn't nearly as close, as the Bruins would take four straight-set victories to eventually take a 5-0 lead. In the featured match of the day at court No. 1, 33rd-ranked Daniel Kosakowski downed 68th-ranked Kyle McMorrow, 6-1, 6-3. Two other Bruin freshman also picked up solid wins on Friday, as Clay Thompson upset 85th-ranked Martin Kildahl, 6-2, 6-3 at court No. 3, and Puget followed up his fine doubles performance with a 6-0, 6-3 win over Daniel Schmidt.

UCLA returns to action on Saturday, hosting Oregon at 1:00 p.m.

#16 UCLA 5, #20 Washington 2
Apr 01, 2011 at Los Angeles, CA (Los Angeles Tennis Center)

Doubles
1. Alex Brigham/Puget (UCLA) def. #31 McMorrow/Nedunchezhiyan (WASH) 9-8(7)
2. Warren Hardie/Inbar (UCLA) def. #69 Kildahl/Obenaus (WASH) 8-5
3. Bots/Schmidt (WASH) def. Kosakowski/Seguso (UCLA) 8-5
UCLA Wins Doubles Point

Singles
1. #33 Daniel Kosakowski (UCLA) def. #68 Kyle McMorrow (WASH) 6-1, 6-3
2. #74 J. Nedunchezhiyan (WASH) def. #71 Amit Inbar (UCLA) 7-6(4), 6-4
3. Clay Thompson (UCLA) def. #85 Martin Kildahl (WASH) 6-2, 6-3
4. Adrien Puget (UCLA) def. Daniel Schmidt (WASH) 6-0, 6-3
5. Tobi Obenaus (WASH) def. Maxime Tabatruong (UCLA) 5-7, retired
6. Holden Seguso (UCLA) def. Marton Bots (WASH) 6-1, 6-4

Match Notes
Washington 14-6; 1-1 Pac-10; National ranking #20
UCLA 12-5; 1-2 Pac-10; National ranking #16
Order of finish: Doubles (2,3,1); Singles (4,1,6,3,5,2)

EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
LIVE NOW
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
Sunday, Feb 14 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS