UCLA Outlasts Cal Baptist in Five Games

April 4, 2007

Box Score

Fourth-ranked UCLA outlasted NAIA power Cal Baptist in five games Wednesday night in a non-league contest in Pauley Pavilion.

The Bruins won 30-23, 22-30, 30-25, 20-30, 15-11 in two hours and 13 minutes in front of 423 rowdy fans. The victory raised the Bruins' overall record to 16-10. The Lancers fell to 18-10.

Tough serving and solid hitting in Game 5 pulled the Bruins through this match. UCLA served two aces against zero errors and hit .474 (10-1-19) in the final game to edge a hot Cal Baptist team. The Lancers committed a pair of service errors and were called for a blocking error in Game 5, three points which proved to be the difference in the match.

Cal Baptist out-hit UCLA .390 to .272 and won the blocking battle 14.0-9.0. The Bruins did not block a ball in the final two games.

Three UCLA players amassed double-digit kills, led by senior Paul George and second-year freshman Brett Perrine who each recorded 15. Perrine scored a career-high 20.0 points, adding an ace and six total blocks. He also led the Bruins in attack percentage at .667. Senior Steve Klosterman added 10 kills and 13 points.

CBU's Shamsu Awudu led both teams with 25 kills (.476), followed by 23 from Donald Balaiba.

On Fri., Apr. 6, the Bruins host No.2 UC Irvine. UCLA will end its regular season home schedule on Wed., Apr. 11 against Long Beach State. Both matches begin at 7 p.m. in Pauley Pavilion.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Jan 05 - 4:00 PM PST
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 08 - 4:30 PM PST
at Penn State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Jan 16 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 7:00 PM PST
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Feb 06 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA