NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
Kellogg, Simpkins Earn UCLA Men's Water Polo Awards

Jan. 19, 2008

LOS ANGELES - Senior Matt Kellogg earned the Jack Bariteau Jr. "Most Inspirational" Award and junior Russell Simpkins captured the Dr. James Puffer Loyalty and Contribution Award at the 2007 UCLA men's water polo team banquet Saturday evening.

The Jack Bariteau Jr. Award, an honor decided by the team, is awarded annually to the player who has earned the utmost respect of his peers through inspirational play and an exceptional daily work ethic.

Kellogg totaled a 5.14 goals against average in seven games last fall, splitting time with sophomore goalkeeper Chay Lapin.

The Dr. James Puffer Award is awarded by the coaching staff to the player whose loyalty to his teammates goes unmatched. This honor signifies the player's strong contribution to the UCLA men's water polo program, both in the water, in the classroom and in the community.

Simpkins, an attacker from Santa Cruz, Calif., established himself as a team leader in 2007. He totaled 10 goals, including one three-goal effort against Stanford at the NorCal Tournament (Sept. 16).

Both awards were introduced at the 2001 banquet. That season, Jon Puffer and Jeff Pflueger received the Dr. James Puffer Award. Alfonso Tucay was the inaugural recipient of the Jack Bariteau Jr. Award.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events