Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Bruins Arrive in Oklahoma City for the Women's College World Series
By: UCLA Athletics

June 1, 2010

Photo Gallery

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - The fifth-seeded Bruins arrived in Oklahoma City on Tuesday for the Women's College World Series. Day one included the Bruins on a charter flight from Los Angeles and UCLA attending the WCWS Opening Ceremonies.

In other UCLA softball news, senior Megan Langenfeld is one of four finalists for the 2010 Softball Honda Sports Award. Langenfeld is nominated along with Mississippi State's Chelsea Bramlett, Washington's Danielle Lawrie and Georgia Tech's Jen Yee.

The winner after nationwide balloting will become a candidate for The Honda-Broderick Cup awarded annually to the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. In addition to the honor of this selection, American Honda will donate $1,000 to the women's athletic fund of each nominee's university. The winner's program will receive $5,000.

The Bruins have won nine Softball Honda Awards (Debbie Doom, 1984; Lisa Longaker, 1988, 1990; Janice Parks, 1989; Lisa Fernandez 1991-93; Jennifer Brundage, 1995; Natasha Watley, 2003). Fernandez ('93) and Watley also went on to win the Honda-Broderick Cup.

On the academic side of things, five Bruins were named to the Pac-10 All-Academic team on Tuesday. Junior Monica Harrison and sophomore Samantha Camuso were each named to the Pac-10 All-Academic Second Team, while senior Megan Langenfeld and juniors Donna Kerr and Grace Murray were named to the Honorable Mention squad.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, May 30
vs. Auburn
Oklahoma City, OK
L, 10 - 11