No. 9 UCLA Baseball Outlasts USC, 3-1

May 25, 2012

Box Score | Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader | 2012 UCLA Media Guide
Video Highlights | UCLA's Updated Stats Get Acrobat Reader

LOS ANGELES - Beau Amaral went 2-for-3 with a key two-run single in the second inning as the No. 9 UCLA baseball team defeated crosstown rival USC, 3-1, in a Pac-12 game before 1,351 at Steele Field at Jackie Robinson Stadium on Friday night.

UCLA (40-14, 18-10) has won 17 of its last 22 games against USC (23-30, 8-20).

The Bruins moved within one game of conference leaders Oregon and Arizona, both 19-9 in Pac-12 play, in the top-heavy conference standings. In addition, UCLA reached the 40-win plateau for the second time in the last three years and for the eighth time in program history.

Adam Plutko (9-3) earned his fourth consecutive win, limiting USC (23-30, 8-20) to one run and four hits in six innings. The sophomore right-hander from Upland, Calif., recorded two strikeouts and walked five batters.

Scott Griggs logged three strikeouts in the top of the ninth inning to secure his 15th save.

USC's Ben Mount (1-8) was tagged with the loss, allowing three runs and five hits in six innings.

Pat Valaika and Cody Regis each went 2-for-3 with one run for the Bruins. Cody Keefer went 1-for-4 with one RBI.

The Trojans received two hits each from Kevin Roundtree (2-for-5) and Brandon Garcia (2-for-4).

UCLA claimed a 2-0 advantage on Amaral's two-run, two-out single in the bottom of the second. With one out in the inning, Valaika drew a walk and advanced to second base on Regis' single to right field. Kevin Kramer drew a two-out walk before Amaral stepped to the plate and lined a two-run base-hit to right field.

USC scored one run in the top of the third inning and stranded two runners on base in the top of the third inning. Andres Rodriguez led off with a single to left field, moved to third base on Kevin Roundtree's single to center, and scored on a sacrifice bunt by Garret Houts.

The Bruins added one run in the bottom of the seventh inning, as Keefer lined a run-scoring single to right field, sending home Amaral from second base with one out.

UCLA returns to action against USC at Jackie Robinson Stadium on Saturday afternoon. Game time is 2 p.m. Tickets cost $7 for adults and $5 for youth (ages 16 and under).

Game Notes: UCLA improved its record to 13-5 in games decided by two runs or fewer ... the Bruins have won 17 of their last 22 games against USC ... David Berg pitched in his 16th consecutive game, recording a 1-2-3 seventh inning, before Ryan Deeter logged a 1-2-3 eighth inning ... Berg improved upon his school record-leading total of 41 single-season appearances ... Scott Griggs also improved upon his school record-leading total of 15 single-season saves ... Griggs moved into a tie for third place on UCLA's career saves list (15) ... Oregon and Arizona are tied for the Pac-12 lead, both with 19-9 conference records ... UCLA remains one game behind Oregon and Arizona, at third place in the standings ... Jeff Gelalich has reached base safely in each of UCLA's last 16 Pac-12 games.



EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS