Zalameda Advances to Sunday's Singles Final at Pac-10 Championships

April 26, 2008

Ojai, Calif. - UCLA seniors Riza Zalameda and Alex McGoodwin each have a shot to take home conference singles titles on Sunday, as both players picked up semifinal wins at the Pac-10 Championships on Saturday.

Zalameda, the fourth seed in the main draw, defeated Cal's Claire Ilcinkas, 6-4, 7-6(6) in Saturday's main draw semifinals. She will meet second-seeded Amanda Fink of USC for the title on Sunday at 9:30 a.m. Zalameda, who will be looking to avenge a 5-7, 7-6, (10-8) loss to Fink back on April 18, has the chance to become the Bruins' first Pac-10 singles champion since Sara Walker in 2000.

McGoodwin actually has a chance at two titles on Sunday, as she is in the finals of both singles and doubles in the Invitational draw. The fourth-seeded McGoodwin advanced to the singles final with a 7-5, 7-5 victory over third-seeded Micael Hein of ASU. She will meet another ASU player, Wendy Pilecka, on Sunday at 8:00 a.m.

In doubles, McGoodwin and partner Andrea Remynse, seeded fourth, upset top-seeded Cristala Andrews/Maria Sanchez of USC, 8-3. The Bruin duo will meet Cal's Rachael Dillon/Daron Moore for the title on Sunday at 11:00 a.m.

Meanwhile, the UCLA men concluded play at the Pac-10 Championships on Saturday, as freshman Josh Miller lost to Cal's second-seeded Bozhidar Katsarov in the semifinals of the Invitational singles draw.

All matches on Sunday are at Ojai's Libbey Park. Complete draws from the Pac-10 Championships can be accessed by clicking HERE


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS