Zalameda Advances to Sunday's Singles Final at Pac-10 Championships

April 26, 2008

Ojai, Calif. - UCLA seniors Riza Zalameda and Alex McGoodwin each have a shot to take home conference singles titles on Sunday, as both players picked up semifinal wins at the Pac-10 Championships on Saturday.

Zalameda, the fourth seed in the main draw, defeated Cal's Claire Ilcinkas, 6-4, 7-6(6) in Saturday's main draw semifinals. She will meet second-seeded Amanda Fink of USC for the title on Sunday at 9:30 a.m. Zalameda, who will be looking to avenge a 5-7, 7-6, (10-8) loss to Fink back on April 18, has the chance to become the Bruins' first Pac-10 singles champion since Sara Walker in 2000.

McGoodwin actually has a chance at two titles on Sunday, as she is in the finals of both singles and doubles in the Invitational draw. The fourth-seeded McGoodwin advanced to the singles final with a 7-5, 7-5 victory over third-seeded Micael Hein of ASU. She will meet another ASU player, Wendy Pilecka, on Sunday at 8:00 a.m.

In doubles, McGoodwin and partner Andrea Remynse, seeded fourth, upset top-seeded Cristala Andrews/Maria Sanchez of USC, 8-3. The Bruin duo will meet Cal's Rachael Dillon/Daron Moore for the title on Sunday at 11:00 a.m.

Meanwhile, the UCLA men concluded play at the Pac-10 Championships on Saturday, as freshman Josh Miller lost to Cal's second-seeded Bozhidar Katsarov in the semifinals of the Invitational singles draw.

All matches on Sunday are at Ojai's Libbey Park. Complete draws from the Pac-10 Championships can be accessed by clicking HERE


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Friday, Mar 11
at California
Berkeley, CA
Rained out.
Saturday, Mar 12
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 1 - 5
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Friday, Apr 01
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Apr 03
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
-
Friday, May 13
vs. Notre Dame
Columbus, OH
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, May 14
at Ohio State
Columbus, OH
L, 1 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS