UCLA Prepares for NCAA West Regional

May 9, 2012

Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter
UCLA Athletics on Facebook

UCLA's consensus No. 1 ranked women's golf team begins the second leg of its championship schedule as the top-seeded team at the NCAA West Regional Championship in Erie, CO.

Hall of Fame Head Coach Carrie Forsyth has guided the Bruins to seven regional titles in nearly 13 full seasons, and 2012 appears no different.

"We're very happy to be the No. 1 seed in the West Regional this year," Forsyth said. "This looks to be the toughest Regional based on the teams selected and the strength of the field, but I believe that our team will do very well and that it will have the chance to represent UCLA in the 2012 NCAA Championship.

"The team is excited to get out there and play, and improve from its performance at the Pac 12 Championship," Forsyth continued. "We know that we have what it takes to not only make it, but put ourselves in a great position entering the championship."

The Bruins, who finished fourth at the conference championship on Apr. 29, will field the same lineup as two weeks ago: senior Brianna Do, juniors Tiffany Lua and Lee Lopez, sophomore Ani Gulugian and freshman Erynne Lee.

Lee, Lua and Lopez are ranked fourth, fifth and sixth nationally, the only three players from the same school ranked among the Top 10. All three players are averaging 72.5 or better. Gulugian is ranked 32nd and Do is ranked 60th. All five players earned All-Pac-12 Conference honors, the most of any school in the league.

Colorado National will play to a par of 72 over 6,575 yards.

For complete tee times and scores click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Friday, May 06
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Story
Saturday, May 07
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
3rd (+1, 865)
Friday, May 20
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Saturday, May 21
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Sunday, May 22
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Story
Monday, May 23
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
1st (-8, 1,144)
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Oregon
Eugene, OR
Won 4-0-1
Tuesday, May 24
vs. Washington
Eugene, OR
Lost 3-1-1
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS