Three Bruins in Action at So. Cal Intercollegiates on Wednesday

Nov. 2, 2011

Photo Gallery

LOS ANGELES - Three Bruin men's tennis players were in action on Wednesday, as qualifying for the 55th Southern California Intercollegiate Championships got underway at UCLA's Los Angeles Tennis Center.

After receiving a bye in the first round of qualifying, newcomer Michael Hui needed to win just one match to earn a spot in Thursday's main draw. He did just that, defeating Concordia's Ryan McNamara, 6-3, 6-0. Hui's opponent in the main draw has not yet been decided.

Junior Evan Lee and freshman Maik Ulrich came up just short in their bids to qualify on Wednesday. After winning the first set in a tiebreaker against BYU's David Doehring, Lee unfortunately wasn't able to hold on, as Doehring battled back for a 6-7(5), 6-4, (10-6) opening-round victory. Ulrich, who advanced to the second round when his opponent, Daniel Moss of Pepperdine, withdrew with an injury, suffered a 6-1, 2-6, (10-3) loss to San Diego's Garrett Taylor.

In addition to Hui, UCLA's Dennis Mkrtchian, Warren Hardie, Alex Brigham and Clay Thompson will all be in action on Thursday.

Please click HERE to access the tournament draws. Also, all match results from the tournament are posted on twitter (@latenniscenter).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, May 14 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Sunday, May 15 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Thursday, May 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
Tulsa, OK
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS