Three UCLA Women's Soccer Players Named Preseason All-Americans

Aug. 22, 2007

LOS ANGELES - The UCLA women's soccer team recently had three players named to the 2007 Soccer Buzz Preseason All-America Team, as Lauren Cheney, Christina DiMartino and Danesha Adams were all selected to the 18-player list. With three selections apiece, UCLA and North Carolina had the most players selected to the squad.

Complete Soccer Buzz Preseason All-America Team

Cheney, a sophomore forward from Indianapolis, Ind., led the Pac-10 in scoring a year ago with 39 points (19g, 1a). She was named a first-team NSCAA/adidas All-American, earning National Freshman of the Year honors. She also led the Bruins with nine game-winning goals.

DiMartino, a junior midfielder from Massapequa, N.Y., was the only consensus All-American on last year's team. She led the Bruins in assists last season with seven, and was the team's third leading scorer with 17 points (5g, 7a).

Adams, a senior midfielder from Shaker Heights, Ohio, ranked second on the team in scoring last season with 28 points (12g, 4a), taking home third-team NSCAA/adidas All-America honors.

In other women's soccer news, UCLA was named the No. 1 team in the country in the Top Drawer Soccer Preseason Rankings. The Bruins have already been named No. 2 by Soccer Buzz and No. 3 by Soccer America.

Also, forward Kara Lang was officially named to Canada's World Cup Team, meaning she will miss the early part of the college season while competing at the Women's World Cup in China.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Oct 11
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1 (2OT)
Saturday, Oct 17
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Oct 23
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Oct 25
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 29
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 0 - 7
Sunday, Nov 01
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 0 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 2