Bruin Tennis Teams Kickoff Fall Seasons

Oct. 1, 2009

LOS ANGELES - The UCLA men's and women's tennis programs kickoff their 2009 fall seasons this weekend, with several players taking part in qualifying for the ITA All-American Championships.

The UCLA women will have the advantage of playing on their home courts this weekend, as the Los Angeles Tennis Center will be the host site for the Riviera/ITA All-American Prequalifying, Oct. 3-4. Nina Pantic, Pamela Montez and Stephanie Hoffpauir are entered in the singles draw. In doubles, Montez will be playing with Pantic, and Hoffpauir will team with Maya Johansson. Should the players advance through prequalifying, the qualifying draws for the Riviera/ITA All-American Championships will be Oct. 6-7 at the Riviera Country Club. Bruin junior Andrea Remynse has already been selected to compete in the qualifying singles draw.

The main draw for Riviera takes place Oct. 8-11, and Bruin senior Yasmin Schnack has earned direct acceptance and does not need to qualify. She and Remynse are also accepted into the main doubles draw.

Unlike the UCLA women, the Bruin men have a little bit farther trip this week, as the D'Novo/ITA All-American Championships takes place, Oct. 5-11 in Tulsa, Okla. UCLA is sending a total of four players to the event, with Amit Inbar, Nick Meister and Kallim Stewart all entered in the qualifying draw beginning Oct. 5. Matt Brooklyn is the Bruins' lone acceptance into the main draw. That begins on Oct. 8. He will be it the qualifying doubles with Inbar.

Information and results for both tournaments can be found on the Intercollegiate Tennis Association website: www.itatennis.com


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Friday, May 13
vs. Weber State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, May 14
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, May 20
vs. Stanford
Tulsa, OK
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Oklahoma
Tulsa, OK
L, 3 - 4
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS