Track & Field Heads to Oregon for Pepsi Invitational

April 5, 2012

The men's and women's track and field team will head to Eugene, OR this Saturday to compete in the Pepsi Invitational, a quadrangular scored meet featuring reigning men's and women's NCAA outdoor champions Texas A&M and Pac-12 foes Oregon and Washington.

Texas A&M's men's team is ranked sixth in the latest USTFCCCA poll, while Oregon is ranked 16th and Washington is unranked. On the women's side, Oregon is ranked No. 1, while A&M is fifth and Washington is unranked.

The Bruins last competed in the Pepsi Invitational back in 1994. The quad meet results will be based off of international scoring which allows schools to score a maximum of two competitors in each event (one team per relay). Individual event scoring is 9-7-6-5-4-3-2-1. Relays will be 9-7-6-5.

The meet will be streamed live via GoDucks.com for FREE. There will also be live stats throughout the competition. For the video feed and live stats, click here.

For a complete meet schedule, click here.

Although neither squad is ranked, the Bruins have been posting some impressive marks in the meets thus far. Below is a list of athletes ranked in the NCAA top 25.

Men

  • Maxwell Dyce - 200m, 21stT (20.97)
  • Dustin Fay - 5000m, 16th (14:11.85)
  • 4x100m Relay - 12thT (39.61)
  • Mike Woepse - Pole Vault, 2nd (18-2.50)
  • Matthew Kosecki - Discus, 16th (181-0)
  • Thomas Nagengast - Discus, 21st (179-1)
  • Alec Faldermeyer - Hammer, 3rd (222-1)
  • Derek Eager - Javelin, 15th (229-9)

    Women

  • Paisley Pettway - 23rd, 800m (2:09.41)
  • Allison Koressel - 18th, Pole Vault (13-5.75)
  • Ida Storm - 5th, Hammer (209-5)

  • EVENT INFORMATION
    UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
    Friday, Feb 26
    vs. MPSF Championships
    Seattle, WA
    Recap
    Saturday, Feb 27
    vs. MPSF Championships
    Seattle, WA
    Recap
    Friday, Mar 11
    vs. NCAA Indoor ...
    Birmingham, AL
    Recap
    Saturday, Mar 12
    vs. NCAA Indoor ...
    Birmingham, AL
    Recap
    Tuesday, Mar 22
    vs. Jim Bush Collegiate ...
    Los Angeles, CA
    Recap
    Friday, Apr 01
    vs. Bruin Legends of ...
    Los Angeles, CA
    Recap
    Friday, Apr 01
    vs. The Legends Distance ...
    Los Angeles, CA
    Recap
    Saturday, Apr 02
    vs. Bruin Legends of ...
    Los Angeles, CA
    Recap
    Saturday, Apr 09
    vs. Rafer Johnson/Jackie ...
    Los Angeles, CA
    Recap
    LIVE NOW
    vs. Mt. SAC Relays
    Norwalk, CA
    -
    Friday, Apr 15
    vs. Mt. SAC Relays
    Norwalk, CA
    Recap
    LIVE NOW
    vs. Mt. SAC Relays
    Norwalk, CA
    -
    Saturday, Apr 16
    vs. Texas A&M
    Los Angeles, CA
    Recap
    LIVE NOW
    vs. Olympic Training ...
    Chula Vista, CA
    -
    LIVE NOW
    vs. Triton Invitational
    San Diego, CA
    -
    Saturday, Apr 23
    vs. Triton Invitational
    San Diego, CA
    Recap
    Sunday, May 01
    vs. USC
    Los Angeles, CA
    Recap
    Saturday, May 07
    vs. Occidental ...
    Eagle Rock, CA
    Recap
    LIVE NOW
    vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
    Seattle, WA
    -
    Sunday, May 08
    vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
    Seattle, WA
    Recap
    Saturday, May 14
    vs. Pac-12 Championships
    Seattle, WA
    Recap
    Sunday, May 15
    vs. Pac-12 Championships
    Seattle, WA
    Recap
    LIVE NOW
    vs. NCAA Regionals ...
    Lawrence, KS
    Friday, May 27 - All Day PST
    vs. NCAA Regionals ...
    Lawrence, KS
    Saturday, May 28 - All Day PST
    vs. NCAA Regionals ...
    Lawrence, KS
    Wednesday, Jun 08 - All Day PST
    vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
    Eugene, OR
    Thursday, Jun 09 - All Day PST
    vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
    Eugene, OR
    Friday, Jun 10 - All Day PST
    vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
    Eugene, OR
    Saturday, Jun 11 - All Day PST
    vs. NCAA Outdoor ...
    Eugene, OR
    BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS