Three Tennis Players Advance in NCAA Singles Draws

May 26, 2010

Athens, Ga. - UCLA's Haythem Abid, Noelle Hickey and Andrea Remynse all posted first-round wins on Wednesday in the opening day of competition at the NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships held at the University of Georgia's Dan Magill Tennis Complex.

Abid, ranked No. 51 nationally, downed 53rd-ranked Casey Watt of Notre Dame, 6-3, 7-6 in his opening match. His opponent in the second round will be Virginia's Michael Shabaz, who is ranked 11th nationally and is a 9-16 seed in the tournament.

Abid's teammate, Matt Brooklyn, didn't fare as well, falling 6-4, 7-6(3) to Virginia's Jarmere Jenkins in the opening round. Brooklyn actually beat Jenkins in straight sets last Sunday when the two squared off during the quarterfinals of the team championships. Brooklyn saved three match points in the second set on Wednesday before falling in a tiebreaker.

On the women's side, junior Noelle Hickey had little trouble in her opening match against 53rd-ranked Lutfiana Budiharto of Wichita State, winning 6-1, 6-0. Hickey, ranked No. 46, will face Cal's Mari Andersson in the second round on Thursday. Andersson upset ninth-seeded Lauren Embree of Florida in her opening match. Unlike Hickey's straight-set triumph, Remynse had a much tougher time against UNLV's Kristina Nedeltcheva, battling back from a first-set loss to eventually pull out a 6-7, 6-4, 6-4 victory. She will next face eighth-seeded Allie Will of Florida.

Sixth-seeded Yasmin Schnack was the only casualty on the women's side on Wednesday, as she was upset by Baylor's Nina Secerbegovic, 6-4, 6-3.

Doubles play begins on Thursday. Amit Inbar and Nick Meister will be competing in the men's draw, while Remynse and Schnack are entered in the women's draw.

Please visit Georgia's TOURNAMENT CENTRAL PAGE for more information.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Georgia
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Texas A&M
Charlottesville, VA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. North Carolina
Charlottesville, VA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, Feb 27
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
W, 4 - 3
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
LIVE NOW
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
-
Thursday, Mar 10
vs. BYU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Mar 22
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
W, 6 - 1
Friday, Mar 25
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, Mar 27
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 4 - 0
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 08
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Apr 10
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 4 - 0
Thursday, Apr 14
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Sunday, Apr 17
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Stanford
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. California
Ojai, CA
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, May 14 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Sunday, May 15 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
TBA
Thursday, May 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Team & ...
Tulsa, OK
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS