Fifth-Ranked Bruins Rally to Knock Off #21 Fresno State

March 5, 2010

Box Score

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - Sophomore Dani Yudin was one of three Bruins to post a two-hit game, also driving in a pair of runs, as fifth-ranked UCLA came from behind to defeat #21 Fresno State 5-4 on Friday at the San Diego Classic.

Sophomore Samantha Camuso and freshman B.B. Bates also had two-hit contests, as the Bruins (15-4) had 10 hits as a team.

Junior Donna Kerr (7-1) struck out eight and allowed three hits, three runs and one walk. Sophomore Aleah Macon earned her first save of the year, pitching the last 2/3 of an inning and giving up two hits and one run.

UCLA scored the game's first runs in the top of the fourth. Camuso walked and senior Julie Burney singled to center to start the inning and both moved into scoring position on a sacrifice by senior Kaila Shull. Yudin followed with a single through the left side to bring home Camuso to make it 1-0. One out later, Bates singled through the right side to plate Burney and put the Bruins up 2-0.

Fresno struck back with three in the bottom of the fourth. With one out, Courtney Moore doubled down the left-field line and Michelle Moses was hit by a pitch. Andrea Ortega followed with a triple to center to clear the bases and tie the score at two. One out later with Nicole Angene at the plate, Ortega came home on a wild pitch to give the Bulldogs a 3-2 lead.

The Bruins matched the Bulldogs with three runs in the top of the fifth to re-take the lead. Junior Monica Harrison led off with a single up the middle, moved to second on a groundout by junior GiOnna DiSalvatore and scored on another single up the middle by sophomore Andrea Harrison. Camuso then tripled to left-center to bring home Andrea Harrison to give UCLA a 4-3 edge. Burney followed with a walk, and one out later, Yudin drove in her second run of the game with a single to right to score Camuso to make it 5-3.

The Bruins continue play at the San Diego Classic on Saturday when they face UTEP (11:30 a.m.) and Long Beach State (7 p.m.) at the SDSU Softball Stadium. Gametracker will be available at UCLABruins.com.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Feb 12
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
L, 1 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
W, 7 - 3
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 8 - 3
Friday, Feb 19
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
W, 2 - 0
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
L, 6 - 8
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
L, 5 - 10
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Thursday, Feb 25
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Feb 26
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
W, 14 - 6 (5)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 4
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
L, 7 - 11
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, May 07 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS