Tennis Teams Ranked in Top 10 to Start the Year

Jan. 7, 2011

LOS ANGELES - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association released its first rankings of the 2011 season this week and both the UCLA men's and women's teams are ranked in the top 10 to start the year.

The UCLA women check in at No. 5 nationally, one spot up from their 2010 final ranking of No. 6. The Bruins begin the season behind top-ranked Stanford, Florida, Baylor and Notre Dame.

Individually, UCLA has two singles players ranked in freshman Courtney Dolehide (#36) and senior Noelle Hickey (#57). Three UCLA teams are ranked in doubles, with junior McCall Jones and sophomore Pamela Montez leading the way at No. 17. Senior Andrea Remynse and Dolehide are ranked No. 57. In addition to her No. 17 ranking with Jones, Montez is also ranked No. 85 with Hickey.

On the men's side, UCLA checks in exactly where it left off in 2010, beginning the year at No. 6 nationally. Virginia starts the year at No. 1, followed by USC, Tennessee, Ohio State and Texas.

Nick Meister, who is actually sitting out the 2011 season due to injury, is the highest ranked Bruin singles player at No. 24. He is followed by sophomore Maxime Tabatruong (#64) and senior Amit Inbar (#86). Inbar and Meister are also ranked No. 18 in doubles.

Complete ITA Rankings can be found HERE.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 10 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCTC Tournament
Friday, Jan 15 - All Day PST
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 24 - TBA PST
vs. Georgia Tech or New ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Jan 31 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 2:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA