Michaels Easily Advances at U.S. Women's Amateur

Aug. 11, 2010

Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter
UCLA Athletics on Facebook

Graduating UCLA senior Sydnee Michaels advanced to the second round of match play at the 110th U.S. Women's Amateur Wednesday at the Charlotte Country Club in Charlotte, NC.

Returning players Tiffany Lua and Stephanie Kono fell in their first round matches.

Michaels won 6 and 4 against Lisa Maunu of Canada. The four-year letterwinner took control of the match with a pair of birdies and three pars on holes five through nine to build a five-hole lead that she never relinquished. Maunu won the 11th with a birdie, halved the 12th and lost the 13th and 14th before running out of holes. Michaels will meet Corrine Carr of Pinehurst, NC Thursday in the second round.

The championship ended for both Lua and Kono Wednesday. Lua lost 1-up to Cydney Clayton. The returning UCLA sophomore had built a 2-up lead with a par at the sixth, but Clayton squared the match with a par at the 11th. A birdie at the 12th gave Clayton a 1-up lead before Lua evened the match with a par at the 14th. Clayton birdied the 15th for a one-hole lead that stood for the remainder of the match.

Kono and Jessica Korda of Bradenton, Fla. were deadlocked through five holes before Kono bogeyed the sixth to go down a hole. The UCLA junior lost the next hole, won the eighth, but never got closer.

For the complete results, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Monday, Feb 08
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 09
vs. Northrop Grumman ...
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
T-5th (+26, 878)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Monday, Feb 22
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
Story
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Allstate Sugar Bowl ...
New Orleans, LA
T-6th (+17, 881)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. Bruin Wave ...
San Luis Obispo, CA
1st (+4, 868)
Monday, Mar 21
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 22
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Story
Wednesday, Mar 23
vs. SDSU March Mayhem at ...
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
3rd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
1st (-2, 286)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
Story
Sunday, Apr 03
vs. Liz Murphey ...
Athens, GA
2nd in Match Play
Friday, Apr 08
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
Story
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. PING/ASU ...
Tempe, AZ
1st (-12, 852)
Monday, Apr 18
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 19
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 20
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Pleasanton, CA
2nd (-15, 849)
Thursday, May 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Friday, May 06 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Saturday, May 07 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
Bryan, TX
Friday, May 20 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 21 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 22 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 23 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, May 25 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS