Zalameda Named Pac-10 Player of the Week

Feb. 12, 2007

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - UCLA junior Riza Zalameda has been named the Pac-10 Women's Tennis Player of the Week for Feb. 5-11, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Zalameda only played once last week but made a big impression nonetheless, trouncing the nation's fourth-ranked player, Melanie Gloria of Fresno State in straight sets to lead 15th-ranked UCLA to a convincing 7-0 sweep over No. 24 Fresno State on Friday.

The Beverly Hills, Calif. native, currently ranked 35th in the Fila Rankings, rolled to the upset over Gloria, 6-2, 6-2 in the No. 1 singles match. Zalameda also teamed with Yasmin Schnack to overcome the top Bulldog doubles duo of Renata Kucerkova and Anastasia Petukhova in a tiebreaker at No. 1 doubles.

The Bruins (4-2) have a big week ahead of them, first hosting UC Irvine on Tuesday, Feb. 13, then traveling to face No. 9 California on Friday, Feb. 16 and No. 2 Stanford on Saturday, Feb. 17 in non-conference duals.

This is the first career Player of the Week award for Zalameda and the first all-time for UCLA.

ALSO NOMINATED: Juliette Mavroleon, ARIZ; Dominika Dieskova, Sr. ORE; Lindsey Nelson, Jr., USC; Amy Toth, Sr., WSU.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. National Collegiate ...
Palm Desert, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Freeman Memorial ...
Las Vegas, NV
-
Friday, Jan 22
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, Jan 29
vs. Saint Mary's
Pacific Palisades, CA
W, 6 - 1
Sunday, Feb 07
vs. Northwestern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 18 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 1:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 12:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Fresno State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 12:30 PM PST
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
Sunday, Apr 03 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - TBA PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS