Bruin Softball Completes Home Schedule

May 2, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

LIMITED NUMBER OF TICKETS AVAILABLE FOR MAY 6
Most tickets for the Sunday, May 6 game against Stanford at Easton Stadium have been allocated. Fans who have not made prior arrangements to attend that game should be aware that approximately 200 tickets will be available at the gate on the day of the game.

BRUINS FINISH ROAD SWING, RETURN TO EASTON
UCLA closes out a six-game homestand and its 2007 regular season home schedule this weekend with games against Cal and Stanford. Sunday's game will see the Bruins honor eight seniors in a pre-game ceremony.

Jodie Legaspi NAMED PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE WEEK
UCLA senior shortstop Jodie Legaspi earned her first career Pac-10 Player of the Week honor on Tuesday, May 1, when she was announced as the conference's weekly honoree.

Legaspi hit .417 (5-for-12) in four games for the Bruins last week with three home runs, a double, nine RBI and four runs scored. She was also perfect in the field at shortstop. UCLA went 3-1 on the week to move into a tie for second in the Pac-10 race at 9-6

UCLA's only setback came on Wednesday at Washington, 8-3. Legaspi did contribute an RBI double in the loss however. Legaspi then ended Friday's game against Oregon with a walk-off single in UCLA's 8-0 win.

Legaspi knocked in five of UCLA's six runs in a 6-3 win over No. 13/14 Oregon State on Saturday. She blasted a two-run homer with two outs in the first inning, then put the game away with a three-run longball in the fifth inning to give the Bruins a 6-1 lead. It was UCLA's first multi-home run game since Feb. 18

Sunday, Legaspi victimized the Beavers again, connecting on a game-tying two-run home run in the fourth inning, then scored UCLA's final run of the day in what would be a 5-3 win. Legaspi had at least one hit and RBI in all four games last week.

In Pac-10 play, Legaspi leads all hitters with 17 RBI, and is second in home runs with six. Legaspi is now seventh at UCLA in career RBI with 153, and sixth in home runs with 42.

This is the first career Player of the Week award for Legaspi, and the 97th Player/Pitcher of the Week award for UCLA.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Feb 12
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
L, 1 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
W, 7 - 3
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 8 - 3
Friday, Feb 19
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
W, 2 - 0
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
L, 6 - 8
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
L, 5 - 10
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Thursday, Feb 25
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Feb 26
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
W, 14 - 6 (5)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 4
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
L, 7 - 11
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, May 07 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS