No. 17 UCLA Handles Washington State, 80-65

Feb. 10, 2013

Box Score | Box Score Get Acrobat Reader | 2012-13 Statistics Get Acrobat Reader

PULLMAN, Wash. -

(AP) - Seniors Alyssia Brewer and Mariah Williams scored 14 points each and No. 17 UCLA won its sixth in a row, defeating Washington State 80-65 on Sunday at Beasley Coliseum.

Nirra Fields added 12 points and Atonye Nyingifa scored 10 for the Bruins (19-4, 10-2 Pac-12), who broke away from a two-point halftime lead by shooting 85 percent (17 of 20) in the second half. UCLA finished the game at 64 percent (30 of 47). It was the first time a UCLA squad shot 60 percent or better for a game in 13 years. The Bruins shot 69.5 percent from the field in a victory at Washington State on Feb. 27, 1999.

Brewer also had a team-high nine rebounds and five assists against the Cougars.

Lia Galdeira led Washington State (9-14, 5-7) with 19 points and Sage Romberg scored 10. The Cougars had won four in a row.

The Bruins used a 9-0 run to take the lead for good. Fields scored six of the nine points as UCLA went ahead 50-42 with 13:37 to go.

UCLA, in third place in the Pac-12, hosts conference leaders No. 6 California and No. 4 Stanford next weekend.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 05
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
L, 61 - 65
Sunday, Feb 07
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 73 - 39
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 73 - 61
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 63 - 59
Friday, Feb 19
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 77 - 72
Sunday, Feb 21
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 54 - 64
Friday, Feb 26
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 80 - 53
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 74 - 61
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Arizona
Seattle, WA
W, 72 - 51
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. California
Seattle, WA
W, 73 - 67 (OT)
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. Oregon State
Seattle, WA
L, 57 - 69
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Hawai'i
Los Angeles, CA
W, 66 - 50
Monday, Mar 21
vs. South Florida
Los Angeles, CA
W, 72 - 67
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Texas
Bridgeport, CT
L, 64 - 72
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS