No. 14 UCLA Baseball Edges No. 13 Purdue, 3-2

May 5, 2012

Box Score (Game 2) | Box Score (Game 2, PDF) Get Acrobat Reader
Box Score (Game 1) | Box Score (Game 1, PDF) Get Acrobat Reader | Recap

UCLA's Updated Stats Get Acrobat Reader | 2012 UCLA Media Guide

LOS ANGELES - The No. 14 UCLA baseball team edged No. 13 Purdue, 3-2, in the second game of a non-conference doubleheader Saturday evening before 1,374 at Steele Field at Jackie Robinson Stadium.

UCLA (31-12) earned a series victory in the nightcap after having defeated Purdue, 5-1, in the first game of Saturday's doubleheader.

Nick Vander Tuig (6-3) earned the win, limiting the Boilermakers (34-9) to two runs and eight hits in 5.2 innings. Vander Tuig logged five strikeouts and did not issue any walks.

Scott Griggs struck out three batters and allowed one hit in the top of the ninth to collect his team-leading 11th save.

UCLA's two wins against Purdue on Saturday helped the Bruins extend their non-conference winning streak to 17 games.

The Bruins scored three runs off four hits in Game 2, overcoming a 2-0 deficit with one run in each of the third, fourth and fifth innings. Jeff Gelalich went 2-for-4 with one double and one run.

Lance Breedlove (6-4) absorbed the loss, surrendering three runs and three hits in four innings. Breedlove retired the seven UCLA hitters before issuing a walk to Kevin Kramer with one out in the bottom of the third.

Purdue jumped to a 2-0 lead in the first three innings. David Miller belted a solo home run to right field with two outs in the second inning, and Barrett Serrato drove home Cameron Perkins with a run-scoring single to center in the third.

UCLA answered in the bottom of the third after Kramer drew a one-out walk. He advanced to third base on two wild pitches before Beau Amaral grounded a single up the middle to score Kramer.

Gelalich opened the bottom of the fourth with a double to left, advanced to third base on a flyout to right field by Trevor Brown and scored on an ensuing wild pitch.

The Bruins claimed a 3-2 lead in the bottom of the fifth. Kevin Williams led off with a single up the middle, moved to second base after Amaral drew a walk, and both baserunners advanced 90 feet on Tyler Heineman's sacrifice bunt. A groundout to third base allowed Williams to score the go-ahead run.

UCLA and Purdue will conclude their three-game series on Sunday afternoon at Jackie Robinson Stadium. Game time of the series finale is 1 p.m.

Game Notes: UCLA has won five of its last seven ballgames ... the Bruins improved to 14-9 in games against top-25 opponents (as ranked by Baseball America) ... Scott Griggs moved into second place on the school's single-season saves list (11) ... Griggs trails record-holder Gabe Sollecito, who logged 12 saves in 1992 ... through 18 innings on Saturday, UCLA's pitching staff recorded 17 strikeouts and zero walks ... David Berg made his conference-leading 30th appearance of the season, allowing one hit in 1.1 innings of relief ... Grant Watson threw one hitless inning out of the bullpen and ranks third on the pitching staff with 25 appearances (12 starts).



EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS