Bruins Conclude Preseason with Sweep of Alumni

Nov. 27, 2007

The UCLA men's volleyball team concluded its preseason schedule with a three-game victory of the Alumni Tuesday night at Pauley Pavilion.

The varsity won 30-28, 30-16, 30-21 in 85 minutes. The Bruins finished their preseason with a 3-1 record.

Sophomores Brett Perrine and Garrett Muagututia and junior Ryan Ratelle were the kill leaders against the Alumni. Perrine led the Bruins with eight kills, an ace and three total blocks for 11.5 points. Muagututia and Ratelle each added seven kills. Muagututia added two block assists for nine points and Ratelle hit for a percentage of .700 without an error. Senior All-American Tony Ker led the varsity with 13 digs.

Olympic beach veteran Mark Williams led the Alumni with eight kills, an ace and three total blocks for 11.0 points.

The Bruins will open their 2008 home season on Fri., Jan. 11 against Stanford at 7 p.m. in Pauley Pavilion.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Feb 24
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 25-19, 25-13)
Saturday, Feb 27
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-20, 25-27, 25-16)
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
(21-25, 25-22, 25-18, 25-18)
Friday, Mar 04
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-22, 25-15, 25-23)
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Ball State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-18, 25-20)
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Concordia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-23, 25-21, 25-18)
Thursday, Mar 24
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
(19-25, 25-20, 23-25, 25-16, 15-7)
Saturday, Mar 26
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
(25-22, 25-22, 25-22)
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(17-25, 25-19, 25-27, 13-25)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 20-25, 18-25, 23-25)
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 25-18, 25-22)
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 21-25, 25-16, 25-23)
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Hawai'i
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-16, 22-25, 25-21)
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Long Beach State
Provo, UT
(26-24, 28-26, 25-19)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT
(20-25, 19-25, 25-18, 15-25)
Thursday, May 05
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
(25-22, 22-25, 21-25, 25-20, 16-18)
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS