No. 4 UCLA Men's Water Polo Defeats No. 14 Pacific, 11-6

Sept. 20, 2008

STOCKTON, Calif. - Senior Krsto Sbutega scored a game-best four goals to pace the No. 4 UCLA men's water polo team past No. 14 Pacific, 11-6, in both teams' opening match of the NorCal Tournament at Pacific's Chris Kjeldsen Pool on Saturday morning.

UCLA led the entire game, opening the contest by outscoring the host Tigers, 3-0, in the first quarter. The Bruins (2-0) raced to a 6-2 halftime lead and owned a 9-4 advantage after three quarters. Both teams traded two goals each in the final quarter.

The Bruins received at least one goal from seven players, including freshman Clinton Jorth, who registered his first collegiate goal.

Pacific's Austin Delong led the Tigers with three goals.

Junior goalkeeper Chay Lapin recorded nine saves in the cage for UCLA. Pacific's Brian Domecus made 10 stops in goal.

The Bruins continue NorCal Tournament play against No. 5 Pepperdine (5-1) on Saturday. Game time at Chris Kjeldsen Pool is slated for 5:20 p.m.

No. 14 Pacific vs. No. 4 UCLA

1 2 3 4 F
Pacific 0 2 2 2 6
UCLA 3 3 3 2 11

Pacific Goals: Austin Delong 3, Evan Garcia, Shane Mahoney, Will Milcovich
Pacific Saves: Brian Domecus 10

UCLA Goals: Krsto Sbutega 4, Scott Davidson, Ben Hohl, Tyler Jemmett, Clinton Jorth, Jacob Murphy, Russell Simpkins, Scott Swanson
UCLA Saves: Chay Lapin 9


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 05 - 9:20 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Sep 05 - 1:20 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Concordia
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 1:50 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 11:45 AM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 2:15 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:20 AM PST
at Redlands
Redlands, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Whittier
Redlands, CA
Saturday, Sep 19 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Sep 19 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Sep 20 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Sep 20 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Chapman
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Alumni Match
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 4:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 03 - 12:00 PM PST
at Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 10 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 10 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - TBA PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 2:00 PM PST
at San Jose State
San Jose, CA
Saturday, Oct 24 - TBA PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Pacific
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 12:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - TBA PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. MPSF Championships - ...
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. MPSF Championships - ...
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS