UCLA Uses Big Second-Half Surge To Down Team SRP, 107-63

Nov. 9, 2008

Box Score |  Photo Gallery 

Los Angeles, Calif. - After leading by just one point at the half, the UCLA women's basketball team turned a close game into a rout, scoring 69 second-half points to defeat Team SRP, 107-63, in the Bruins' final exhibition contest of the year. UCLA shot a blistering 71.8% from the field in the second half. Nina Earl led five Bruin players in double-digit point totals with 23.

UCLA jumped out to a 13-4 lead early in the game before Team SRP cut the lead to three points, 14-11. The Bruins then went on a 13-2 run to go up 27-13 at the 8:29 mark. Earl (six points) and Rebekah Gardner (five points) keyed the run. Team SRP came back in the final six minutes of the half, however, with a 16-2 run of its own. A steal and layup by Anita Rivera gave Team SRP its first lead, 36-35, with 1:29 remaining, but Gardner made three free throws in the final minute to give the Bruins a one-point lead, 38-37, at the half.

The Bruin offense exploded in the second half, scoring 69 points, thanks to a full-court pressure defense that forced 18 second-half turnovers, thanks in large part to 13 steals. UCLA finished the game with 23 steals, including five each by Earl and Doreena Campbell.

All 11 active Bruin players scored, led by Earl's 23 points. Gardner finished with 19 points (5-5 shooting from the field, including 2-2 from three-point land). Senior guard Tierra Henderson had another strong all-around game, netting 17 points, nine assists, five rebounds and four steals. Campbell recorded 15 points with six assists and five steals, and Erica Tukiainen scored 12 points with four steals. Amanda Patton led Team SRP with 15 points. UCLA alumnae Marie Philman and Consuelo Lezcano finished with six and four points, respectively.

UCLA, which went 2-0 in exhibition play, opens regular season play on Sunday, Nov. 16 against Cal State Fullerton in Pauley Pavilion at 2 pm.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Nov 13
vs. St. John's
Los Angeles, CA
W, 73 - 58
Friday, Nov 20
vs. James Madison
Los Angeles, CA
W, 90 - 61
Sunday, Nov 22
vs. South Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 65 - 68
Friday, Nov 27
vs. Louisiana Tech
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
W, 68 - 57
Saturday, Nov 28
vs. Notre Dame
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
L, 84 - 92 (OT)
Saturday, Dec 05
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 82 - 68
Sunday, Dec 13
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
W, 86 - 77
Wednesday, Dec 16
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 48
Friday, Dec 18
at Sacramento State
Sacramento, CA
W, 109 - 76
Monday, Dec 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 104 - 108 (2OT)
Monday, Dec 28
at UC Riverside
Riverside, CA
W, 70 - 56
Wednesday, Dec 30
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 78 - 73
Saturday, Jan 02
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 80 - 69
Monday, Jan 04
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 71 - 51
Sunday, Jan 10
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 68 - 71
Friday, Jan 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 56 - 64
Sunday, Jan 17
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
W, 75 - 73
Friday, Jan 22
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
W, 75 - 56
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 56 - 36
Friday, Jan 29
at Colorado
Boulder, CO
W, 82 - 64
Sunday, Jan 31
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 69 - 63
Friday, Feb 05
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
L, 61 - 65
Sunday, Feb 07
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 73 - 39
Friday, Feb 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Feb 21 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Feb 26 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Women's ...
Seattle, WA
Friday, Mar 04 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Women's ...
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Mar 05 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Women's ...
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Women's ...
Seattle, WA
Friday, Mar 18 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Sunday, Mar 20 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Friday, Mar 25 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Sunday, Mar 27 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Sunday, Apr 03 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Indianapolis, IN
Tuesday, Apr 05 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Indianapolis, IN
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS