Olympic Roundup - Wednesday, Aug. 6

Aug. 6, 2008

Women's Soccer
Group play action began on Wednesday, and UCLA junior Kara Lang made a huge splash in the first-ever Olympic game for Team Canada, scoring the game-winning goal in a 2-1 victory over Argentina. Lang, who had a goal nullified in the first half due to a foul, headed in a free kick from 10 yards out in the 72nd minute to give Canada a 2-0 lead. Argentina scored with five minutes left, but the Canadians held on for the win and the Group E lead with three points. Canada will next play host team China on Aug. 9 at 4:45 am PT.

To watch the game, click HERE.

The United States suffered a 2-0 loss at the hands of Norway, allowing two goals in the first five minutes of the game. UCLA junior Lauren Cheney did not play in the game. The U.S. will next play Japan on Saturday, Aug. 9 at 2 am PT. The game will be broadcast live on USA Network. Japan opened Group G play with a 2-2 tie against New Zealand.

Beijing Blogs
Women's track and field assistant coach and U.S. hammer thrower Jessica Cosby checks in from China after sightseeing in Dalian. Read more HERE.

Women's soccer head coach and U.S. assistant coach Jillian Ellis blogs about the team's opening game. Read more HERE.

News Links

  • Patrick Ianni (men's soccer) - Stockton Record
  • Benny Feilhaber (men's soccer) - Derby Evening Telegraph
  • Kara Lang (women's soccer) - FIFA.com
  • Mike Altman (men's rowing) - Marin Independent Journal
  • Elyse Hopfner-Hibbs (women's gymnastics) - Toronto Star
  • Marvell Wynne (men's soccer) - North County Times

    Coming Up
    Men's soccer action kicks off Thursday, Aug. 7 with the U.S. (Benny Feilhaber, Patrick Ianni, Marvell Wynne) taking on Japan at 2 am PT. The game will be broadcast live on MSNBC.


  • EVENT INFORMATION
    UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
    Wednesday, Aug 12
    vs. Missouri
    Los Angeles, CA
    0-0
    Friday, Aug 21
    at Long Beach State
    Long Beach, CA
    L, 0 - 1
    Sunday, Aug 23
    at San Diego
    San Diego, CA
    W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
    Sunday, Aug 30
    vs. Wisconsin
    Los Angeles, CA
    W, 2 - 1
    Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
    vs. Virginia
    Los Angeles, CA
    Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
    vs. Texas
    Los Angeles, CA
    Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
    at Wake Forest
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
    at North Carolina
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
    vs. Pepperdine
    Los Angeles, CA
    Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
    vs. Oregon
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
    at Washington
    Seattle, WA
    Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
    at Washington State
    Pullman, WA
    Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
    vs. Arizona
    Los Angeles, CA
    Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
    vs. Arizona State
    Los Angeles, CA
    Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
    at Oregon State
    Corvallis, OR
    Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
    vs. Colorado
    Los Angeles, CA
    Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
    vs. Utah
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
    at California
    Berkeley, CA
    Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
    at Stanford
    Stanford, CA
    Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
    vs. USC
    Los Angeles, CA
    Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
    vs. NCAA First Round
    TBA
    Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
    vs. NCAA Second Round
    TBA
    Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
    vs. NCAA Third Round
    TBA
    Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
    vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
    TBA
    BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS