Kelly Rulon Named a Cutino Award Finalist

May 7, 2007

The Olympic Club of San Francisco recently announced the 2006-2007 Peter J. Cutino Award finalists. This award is given to the outstanding female and male Collegiate water polo players in the United States as voted by the coaches of the Division I schools.

The male finalists are: Juan Delgadillo from USC, Ty Lackey from UC San Diego University and John Mann from UC Berkeley. The female finalists are: Erika Figge from USC, Katie Hansen from Stanford and Kelly Rulon from UCLA.

The winners will be announced at the Eighth Annual Peter J. Cutino Awards Night Dinner to be held Saturday June 2nd, 2007 at The Olympic Club's City Clubhouse located at 524 Post Street in San Francisco.

The award is given annually in honor of the late Peter J. Cutino, the former University of California Berkeley and The Olympic Club coach, who passed away in September 2004. Mr. Cutino is in the U.S. Water Polo Hall of Fame. He won "Water Polo Coach of the Year" 17 times. He led U.C. Berkeley to eight NCAA National Championships. In his career Mr. Cutino also coached in the Olympic Games, the Pan American Games, the Water Polo World Championships and the World University Games.

Past Cutino Award Winners

1999 - Bernice Orwig (USC)

2000 - Aniko Pelle (USC) and Sean Kern (UCLA)

2001 - Coralie Simmons (UCLA) and Sean Kern (UCLA)

2002 - Brenda Villa (Stanford) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)

2003 - Jackie Frank (Stanford) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)

2004 - Moriah Van Norman (USC) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)

2005 - Natalie Golda (UCLA) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)

2006 - Lauren Wenger (USC) and Juraj Zatovic (USC)

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events