Muscle Milk Rotator Sponsor
Q&A: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar on teaching, the Lakers and Tim Duncan
By: UCLA Athletics

March 10, 2009

By John Hareas,

Playing the right way. It was at the core of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar's brilliant 20-year NBA career. Now the six-time NBA champion and league MVP wants to ensure that today's young players do the same.

The Hall of Famer recently launched, an instructional web site devoted to teaching the fundamentals of the game while providing amateur coaches an opportunity to raise funds for their respective teams.

Abdul-Jabbar spoke to's John Hareas about's mission as well as his thoughts on whether the Lakers can win it all without Andrew Bynum; Shaq's assessment that he and Kobe are the best big-man, little-man combo in NBA history and why Tim Duncan is the greatest big man of this generation. How did HoopIQ come about?

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar: A lot of young players don't really know much about the history of the game and a lot of them are missing out on what the game is all about, especially the whole concept of sportsmanship and teamwork.

A lot of players think the game is all about individual performances when it's really all about a team game. I want to give them an idea of how the game should be played, so I decided to do a series of demonstrations that will show them what they should be thinking about when they're on the basketball court.

On, we have a number of different training videos focusing on the important and crucial aspects of the game that players can access via the web site or e-mailed directly to you.

For example, in one demonstration, we focus on rebounding. We talk about individual and team defense. We talk about shooting. We talk about the layup and its purpose and how it's part of the game.

We talk about how all the different parts of the game connect together and the best way to try to use those components to have a good concept of how to play the complete game.

In addition to myself, Andrew Bynum, Luke Walton, Sasha Vujacic, A.C. Green and my son, Kareem, are all involved in demonstrating the fundamentals of the game.

To read the entire interview, visit by clicking here.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA