No. 3 UCLA Registers 12-4 Victory Over No. 12 UC San Diego

Oct. 30, 2010

UCLA vs. Pomona-Pitzer Recap | Season Statistics Get Acrobat Reader
2010 Media Guide (Viewable) | 2010 Media Guide (PDF)

LOS ANGELES - The No. 3 UCLA men's water polo team defeated No. 12 UC San Diego, 12-4, in a non-conference game at Spieker Aquatics Center on Saturday afternoon. The Bruins (13-3) held the visiting Tritons (10-10) scoreless through the game's final 12 minutes and 52 seconds.

Freshman Cristiano Mirarchi led UCLA with four goals, while senior Ben Hohl added three goals. Junior Cullen Hennessy netted two goals, and seniors Clay Jorth and Jacob Murphy and junior Brett Hays registered one goal.

Deadlocked at 3-3 through the first seven minutes, UCLA fired three quick goals in the final minute of the first quarter. A lob shot from Hohl with 47 seconds left broke the 3-3 tie. Consecutive steals by Josh Samuels led to goals by Hennessy (0:24) and Mirarchi (0:13).

The Bruins' lead grew to five goals early in the second quarter. A 6-on-5 goal by Hohl with 6:14 to play in the second frame and a cross-cage strike from Jorth (5:08) put UCLA ahead, 8-3. UC San Diego registered its fourth and final goal of the afternoon with 4:52 to play in the second quarter on a shot from Bryce Madsen.

UCLA led UC San Diego, 8-4, at halftime and outscored the Tritons by 2-0 margins in each of the final two quarters.

Freshman goalkeeper James Hartshorne netted six saves in the cage. He helped keep UC San Diego scoreless through the second half.

UC San Diego junior goalkeeper David Morton finished with seven stops. The Tritons received one goal each from Madsen, Ryan Allred, Jakub Bednarek and Graham Saber.

The Bruins continue their Saturday afternoon doubleheader at Spieker Aquatics Center with a non-conference tilt against Pomona-Pitzer at 3:30 p.m.

No. 12 UC San Diego at No. 3 UCLA

1 2 3 4 F
UC San Diego 3 1 0 0 4
UCLA 6 2 2 2 12

UC San Diego Goals: Ryan Allred, Jakub Bednarek, Bryce Madsen, Graham Saber
UC San Diego Saves: David Morton 7

UCLA Goals: Cristiano Mirarchi 4, Ben Hohl 3, Cullen Hennessy 2, Clay Jorth, Brett Hays, Jacob Murphy
UCLA Saves: James Hartshorne 6


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 05 - 9:20 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Sep 05 - 1:20 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Concordia
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 1:50 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 11:45 AM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 2:15 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:20 AM PST
at Redlands
Redlands, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Whittier
Redlands, CA
Saturday, Sep 19 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Sep 19 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Sep 20 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Sep 20 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Chapman
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Alumni Match
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 4:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 03 - 12:00 PM PST
at Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 10 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 10 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - TBA PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 2:00 PM PST
at San Jose State
San Jose, CA
Saturday, Oct 24 - TBA PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Pacific
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 12:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - TBA PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. MPSF Championships - ...
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. MPSF Championships - ...
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS