UCLA Cruises Past Cal State Northridge, 22-2, in Resumed Game

April 15, 2008

Box Score (HTML)
Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

LOS ANGELES - The UCLA baseball team concluded its previously-suspended game against Cal State Northridge this afternoon at Jackie Robinson Stadium, defeating the Matadors, 22-2. Both teams played the first seven and one half innings at Cal State Northridge on Feb. 26 before the game was suspended due to darkness.

Jermaine Curtis, Brandon Crawford and Justin Uribe each tallied three hits in the non-conference win. Alden Carrithers, Brady Dolan and Casey Haerther each recorded two hits. Dolan went 2-for-3 with a game-high and career-best five RBI. Curtis went 3-for-3 with three walks and one hit-by-pitch - the Bruins' third baseman reached base safely in each of seven plate appearances.

Uribe finished the game going 3-for-4 with three runs and three RBI before the game was suspended on Feb. 26. Crawford was 3-for-6 with four RBI, and Casey Haerther went 2-for-5 with two runs and three RBI.

UCLA crossed the plate at least once in each of the first eight innings, scoring more runs than any Bruin team since May 25, 1997, when the Bruins defeated Oklahoma State, 22-2, in an NCAA Regional Final. In the resumed game this afternoon, UCLA's offense featured 21 hits, 11 walks and 34 total bases.

Gabe Cohen was 1-for-4 with one home run, three RBI, two walks and a career-high four runs. Ryan Babineau scored three runs, going 1-for-3 at the plate with two walks.

Dolan, Cohen and Mickey Weisser each connected for home runs. Weisser's solo homer in the top of the seventh marked his first round-tripper at UCLA. Dolan cashed in with five RBI - two off a second-inning double that handed UCLA a 3-0 lead, and three from his home run to right field in the third inning.

Left-hander Matt Drummond earned the win, allowing two runs and three hits in five innings. Right-hander Charles Brewer pitched two perfect innings in relief. Cal State Northridge right-hander Drew Muren was tagged with the loss in his collegiate debut, allowing five runs (two earned) and four hits in 2.1 innings.

UCLA led the entire way, scoring once in the first inning and four times in the second frame. Following's Dolan's second-inning double, UCLA plated two more runs on a single by shortstop Brandon Crawford.

Leading 5-0, the Matadors cut into UCLA's lead with a solo home run in the bottom of the second by third baseman Matt Warr. UCLA added five runs in the third inning, four in the fourth and two in the fifth. Cohen's two run homer to straight-away center field in the top of the fifth handed the Bruins a commanding 16-1 lead.

Cal State Northridge added their second run in the bottom of the fifth inning on a fielder's choice. The Bruins added four more runs in the sixth and one in each of the seventh and eighth innings to assume a 22-2 lead.

Game Notes: Freshman outfielder Brett Krill made his collegiate debut, pinch-hitting for Cody Decker in the sixth inning - Krill reached base with an infield hit in the top of the sixth ...freshman infielder Niko Gallego collected his first two at-bats at UCLA...Raul Duran's infield single marked his first collegiate hit...the No. 5 through No. 9 slots in UCLA's lineup scored 16 of the team's 22 runs.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
W, 11 - 10
Friday, May 06
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Saturday, May 07
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
W, 4 - 1
Sunday, May 08
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Tuesday, May 10
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, May 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 5
Saturday, May 14
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3
Sunday, May 15
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9
Tuesday, May 17
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 3 - 4
Friday, May 20
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 12
Saturday, May 21
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 10
Friday, May 27
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1
Saturday, May 28
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 3
Sunday, May 29
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 6
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS