Megan Langenfeld Nominated for ESPY

June 25, 2010

Megan Langenfeld, the Most Outstanding Player of the Women's College World Series, has been nominated for an ESPY in the category of Best Female College Athlete.

You can vote for Megan online or by mobile device at espn.com/espys. Fans can also access and 'friend' the ESPN facebook page at facebook.com/espn and encourage fans to vote for Megan by posting to your page. The official twitter page for the ESPYs is twitter.com/espys.

Langenfeld helped the Bruins to their 12th national championship and 11th NCAA softball title. She hit .706 (12-for-17) during the WCWS with four home runs and nine runs batted in. Three of her homers came during the WCWS finals, as she hit two in game one against Arizona, including a walk-off bomb in the eighth inning to give the Bruins a 6-5 victory. The senior also went 3-0 in the circle with 17 strikeouts in 24 2/3 innings. Langenfeld's .706 average was the second-best total for one WCWS, her four homers tied for the most in one WCWS and her eight runs scored set a new record.

For the postseason, Langenfeld hit .593 (16-for-27) with six homers and 11 RBI and was 4-0 in the circle with 20 strikeouts in 27 1/3 innings.

For the season, Langenfeld led the Bruins with a .527 batting average, 20 home runs, 58 runs batted in, a 1.085 slugging percentage, 43 walks and a .667 on base percentage. The slugging and on base percentages set new single-season school records, while the .527 average was the second-best single-season mark in UCLA history. In the circle, she was 14-1 with a 1.53 earned run average, three saves and 76 strikeouts in 114 1/3 innings.

Langenfeld is nominated with Connecticut women's basketball players Tina Charles and Maya Moore and Penn State women's volleyball player Megan Hodge.

The ESPYs will take place at the Nokia Theater in downtown Los Angeles on Wednesday, July 14 at 6 p.m. and will air live on ESPN.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Feb 12
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
L, 1 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Feb 13
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
W, 7 - 3
Sunday, Feb 14
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
W, 8 - 3
Friday, Feb 19
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
W, 2 - 0
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
L, 6 - 8
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
L, 5 - 10
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Thursday, Feb 25
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Feb 26
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
W, 14 - 6 (5)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 4
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
L, 7 - 11
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, May 07 - 5:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS