Ker Named Defensive Player of the Year by Volleyball

May 28, 2008

UCLA senior libero Tony Ker was named the Defensive Player of the Year by Volleyball, the magazine announced this week.

For Ker, 22, the recognition marked the third consecutive year he has received the award. A four-time All-American and All-MPSF selection, Ker completed his playing career as the national leader in career digs with 1,220. He also set UCLA records in 2008 for digs in a season (368) and digs in a match (27). His 2008 digs average was 3.23 digs per game, another school record.

"Tony Ker has led our team through some great digging years," said Head Coach Al Scates. "His ability to assume a large portion of the passing area gave us many offensive options. It wouldn't surprise me if he became the libero for the U.S. National Team after 2008."

Ker earned 1st Team AVCA All-America honors earlier this month, marking the second time he has been named to the association's first team.

In addition, he earned 3rd Team All-MPSF honors, but received more votes than any other conference libero. Sophomore Garrett Muagututia earned 2nd Team All-MPSF honors and juniors D.J. Stromath, Sean O'Malley and Jamie Diefenbach each were selected to the All-MPSF Honorable Mention team.

In other news, three Bruins, including Ker and Diefenbach, were named to the 2008 MPSF All-Academic Team, the conference announced on Tuesday.

Ker, Diefenbach and junior Ryan Ratelle were chosen to this year's squad, which included 41 players from around the conference.

To qualify, players must own a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0, among other requirements.

Through the Winter Quarter, Ratelle had a 3.37 gpa in Business/Economics. Difenbach had a 3.15 gpa and Ker had a 3.07 gpa; both are majoring in Sociology.

Finally, 14 UCLA volleyball players earned spots on the Director's Honor Roll for the Winter Quarter. Highlighting that list was Diefenbach, who boasted a 4.0 gpa for the quarter.

"We're very proud of our student-athletes," said Scates. "These are volleyball players competing with students who have an average incoming grade point average of 4.2, so our players have learned to make the most of their time."


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
25-19, 25-15, 25-14
Tuesday, Jan 05
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
25-23, 25-12, 25-20
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
(24-26, 25-22, 25-22, 25-22)
Friday, Jan 08
at Penn State
University Park, PA
(25-23, 22-25, 25-18, 21-25, 15-8)
Friday, Jan 15
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
(25-19, 24-26, 25-23, 25-23)
Saturday, Jan 16
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
(25-18, 25-17, 25-14)
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
(27-25, 25-21, 25-12)
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 23-25, 25-21, 25-19)
Monday, Jan 25
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-23, 25-16)
Wednesday, Jan 27
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
(23-25, 22-25, 25-19, 25-22, 15-13)
Friday, Jan 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
(20-25, 25-23, 27-25, 25-19)
Friday, Feb 05
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-18, 20-25, 23-25, 18-25)
Saturday, Feb 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(22-25, 25-22, 19-25, 25-18, 15-9)
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 8:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Monday, Mar 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Ball State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Concordia
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 7:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 7:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
TBA
Thursday, Apr 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
TBA
Saturday, Apr 23 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Championship
TBA
Thursday, May 05 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Championships
University Park, PA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS