UCLA Wins 2011 Pac-12 Title After 2-0 Victory Over Cal

Nov. 4, 2011

Box Score

Berkeley, Calif. - The No. 8 UCLA men's soccer team clinched its third Pac-12 title in four years and seventh overall after defeating the California Golden Bears 2-0 on Friday afternoon in Berkeley. The Bruins got goals from Eder Arreola and Chandler Hoffman to secure the victory.

UCLA had a great scoring opportunity in the 15th minute as Kelyn Rowe lined up for a free kick from about 30 yards out. He put a ball on net that initially gave Cal keeper Kevin Peach some trouble, but Peach eventually held onto the ball and made the save, keeping the game at 0-0. The Bruins would break through in the 37th minute though, as Eder Arreola scored his third goal of the season to give UCLA a 1-0 lead. Patrick Matchett and Chandler Hoffman assisted on the goal and the Bruins would eventually go into the half with that 1-0 lead.

The Bruins maintained possession and held onto their 1-0 lead for most of the second half until the 88th minute, when Chandler Hoffman took a pass from Reed Williams and scored his 14th goal of the season to give UCLA a 2-0 lead, all but securing the Pac-12 title in the process. The Bruins would run out the final two minutes of play and defeated the Cal Golden Bears by the score of 2-0 to win their seventh Pac-12 title.

Overall, the Bruins outshot Cal 21-8 in the match and goalie Brian Rowe earned his 12th victory and seventh shutout of the year.

UCLA improved its record to 13-4-1 and remains undefeated in the conference at 8-0-0. With the loss, Cal falls to 3-8-4 and 0-6-2 in the Pac-12. The Bruins will next head down to Palo Alto to face the Stanford Cardinal on Sunday, Nov. 6 at 1 pm.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Tuesday, Aug 18
vs. Mexican U-17 ...
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1
Saturday, Aug 22
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Aug 29
vs. New Mexico
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 04
at Maryland
College Park, MD
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Monday, Sep 07
at Georgetown
Washington, DC
L, 1 - 3
Sunday, Sep 13
vs. UC Riverside
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2 (OT)
Friday, Sep 18
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 1
Monday, Sep 21
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Sep 25
vs. VCU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 27
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 3 (OT)
Friday, Oct 02
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 0 - 1 (2OT)
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 3 - 2 (2OT)
Monday, Oct 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. San Diego State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 16 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Oct 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 23 - 8:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 10:00 AM PST
at Akron
Akron, OH
Friday, Nov 06 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 14 - 7:00 PM PST
at San Diego State
San Diego, CA
Thursday, Nov 19 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
Sunday, Nov 29 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
Friday, Dec 04 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
Friday, Dec 11 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO
Sunday, Dec 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA College Cup ...
Kansas City, MO