No. 4 UCLA Women's Water Polo Falls at Stanford, 9-5

Feb. 5, 2012

Stanford Invitational

STANFORD, Calif. - The No. 4 UCLA women's water polo team lost 9-5 to Stanford late Sunday afternoon in the Stanford Invitational championship match. KK Clark led UCLA with three goals.

The Bruins (6-1) also received one goal from Becca Dorst and Kelly Ronimus in their first defeat of the season.

Stanford (6-0) was paced by two goals each from Kaley Dodson, Victoria Kennedy and Kelsey Suggs. The host Cardinal claimed a 2-1 lead after one quarter and pushed their margin to 5-2 by halftime.

UCLA reduced Stanford's cushion to two goals - 6-4 - by outscoring the Cardinal, 2-1, in the third quarter. Stanford pushed ahead in the final period with three goals while limiting UCLA to one.

UCLA goalkeeper Caitlin Dement recorded three saves in the cage. Stanford's Kate Baldoni was credited with 15 stops.

Clark has scored in each of UCLA's seven matches this season, totaling a team-best 18 goals.

Earlier in the day, the Bruins advanced to the title match with a 10-3 victory over No. 12 Michigan.

In other action at the Stanford Invitational on Sunday afternoon, USC took third place with a 10-5 win over California. Hawaii defeated San Jose State, 11-7, to capture fifth place. Michigan took down UC Davis, 7-5, to finish seventh.

UCLA returns to action against Cal Baptist at Spieker Aquatics Center on Saturday, Feb. 11. Game time of the Bruins' first home contest is 6 p.m.

No. 4 UCLA at No. 2 Stanford (Stanford Invitational Championship)

1 2 3 4 F
UCLA 1 1 2 1 5
Stanford 2 3 1 3 9

UCLA Goals: KK Clark 3, Becca Dorst, Kelly Ronimus
UCLA Saves: Caitlin Dement 3

Stanford Goals: Kaley Dodson 2, Victoria Kennedy 2, Kelsey Suggs 2, Alyssa Lo, Kaitlyn Lo, Pallavi Menon
Stanford Saves: Kate Baldoni 15


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. Hawai'i
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 13 - 8
Saturday, Jan 23
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 8 - 5
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Long Beach State
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 4
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Michigan
Santa Barbara, CA
W, 11 - 7
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. USA Scrimmage
Los Angeles, CA
L, 4 - 13
Saturday, Feb 13 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Sonoma State
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - TBA PST
vs. Loyola Marymount or ...
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Feb 14 - TBA PST
vs. Triton Invitational
San Diego, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - TBA PST
vs. UC Irvine ...
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 10:50 AM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Ann Arbor, MI
Saturday, Mar 05 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. George Washington
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 7:40 AM PST
at Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:40 PM PST
vs. Bucknell
Ann Arbor, MI
Sunday, Mar 20 - 1:00 PM PST
at CSU Bakersfield
Bakersfield, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. San Jose State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 12:15 PM PST
vs. Redlands
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Pomona-Pitzer
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 1:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. MPSF Championships
Bakersfield, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS