No. 5 Women's Soccer to Face Fresno St., Illinois

Aug. 23, 2012

Follow on twitter:@uclawsoccer | Ticket Information

The UCLA women's soccer team (1-0) has two matches on tap this week, as the Bruins head up north to take on Fresno State this Friday before heading back to Los Angeles on Sunday for the team's 2012 home opener against Illinois. UCLA's Friday showdown against Fresno State (0-1-1) is scheduled to begin at 7:00 p.m. The two teams met last year in Los Angeles and the Bruins posted a 4-1 victory over the Bulldogs. UCLA takes a 5-0 all-time record against Fresno State into the match. The Bruins round out the weekend on Sunday at Drake Stadium, taking on Illinois (1-0-1) at Noon. The two teams have not met since 2009 (a 2-1 UCLA win in Champaign). UCLA leads that series 2-0.

Live Stats: Fresno St. | Illinois

Internet radio will also be provided for the UCLA-Illinois match. John Ramey will be calling the action on the UCLA Radio Network. To access the broadcast, click HERE.

This Sunday is also CalSouth Day at the stadium. Kids who wear their jersey to the match will receive free admission. For more info, please click HERE. The team's 2012 team poster will also be given out the match.

The Bruins are coming off a cross-country road trip where they were scheduled to face both UConn and UMass. Unfortunately, UCLA's showdown with UConn on Friday was canceled due to weather, however the Bruins did pick up one win on the trip, registering a 2-1 victory over UMass on Sunday. Freshman Kodi Lavrusky scored her first collegiate goal, while sophomore defender Abby Dahlkemper registered the game winner in the 52nd minute. Goalkeeper Alana Munger also picked up her first win in goal, playing the entire 90 minutes.

UCLA moved up one spot from No. 6 to No. 5 in this week's NSCAA Coaches' Poll. The four teams ranked ahead of UCLA are Stanford, Duke, Florida State and Oklahoma State. Click HERE to access the complete poll.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Sep 06
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Sep 11
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Sep 13
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
L, 1 - 3
Thursday, Sep 17
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Friday, Sep 25
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 1 - 2
Sunday, Oct 04
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 2 - 4
Friday, Oct 09
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 1
Sunday, Oct 11
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
T, 1 - 1 (2OT)
Saturday, Oct 17
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
L, 1 - 2
Friday, Oct 23
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Sunday, Oct 25
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
W, 1 - 0
Thursday, Oct 29
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 0 - 7
Sunday, Nov 01
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
L, 0 - 2
Friday, Nov 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 2