UCLA Falls Just Short To VCU, 89-85

Nov. 26, 2010

Box Score |  Photo Gallery 

NEW YORK (AP) -

Jamie Skeen had 23 points and nine rebounds and Virginia Commonwealth held off a late rally by UCLA for an 89-85 victory on Friday in the third-place game of the NIT Season Tip-Off.

The Rams (4-1) led 69-58 with 7:08 to play on a layup by Rob Brandenburg. Tyler Honeycutt had seven points in a 12-4 run by UCLA (3-2) that got the Bruins within 73-70 with 4:11 left.

UCLA got within one point twice, the second time at 80-79 on a 3-pointer by Malcolm Lee with 1:48 to go. Skeen scored off a scramble in the lane and Brandon Rozzell followed a UCLA turnover with a breakaway dunk to give the Rams an 84-79 lead with 1:03 left.

Lazeric Jones scored on a drive with 14.3 seconds left to get the Bruins within 87-85. Joey Rodriguez went 1 for 2 from the line with 13.4 seconds to go to give VCU a three-point lead. UCLA came down with a chance to tie but Reeves Nelson's 3-point attempt with 5 seconds left was well off the mark and Bradford Burgess of VCU made one of two free throws with 2.7 seconds left.

Burgess, who was 3 for 3 from 3-point range, had 15 points for the Rams and Rodriguez added 14, all but two on six 3-point attempts.

Lee was 5 for 7 from 3-point range and had 23 points for the Bruins, while Nelson had 20 points and 10 rebounds and Honeycutt had 18 points and 13 rebounds.

Virginia Commonwealth, which lost 77-72 to No. 24 Tennessee in the semifinals, finished 10 of 22 from 3-point range.

UCLA outrebounded the Rams 24-12 in the second half for a 43-28 overall edge on the boards, but the Bruins committed 21 turnovers and VCU turned them into 24 points.

UCLA, which never led against VCU, lost 82-70 to No. 7 Villanova in the semifinals.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 77
Sunday, Dec 06
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 76
Saturday, Dec 12
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
W, 71 - 66
Tuesday, Dec 15
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
W, 89 - 80
Saturday, Dec 19
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
L, 76 - 89
Tuesday, Dec 22
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 67 - 53
Friday, Jan 01
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 93 - 96 (2OT)
Sunday, Jan 03
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
L, 78 - 85
Thursday, Jan 07
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
W, 87 - 84
Saturday, Jan 09
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 74
Wednesday, Jan 13
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 75 - 89
Wednesday, Jan 20
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
W, 82 - 73
Saturday, Jan 23
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 72 - 86
Thursday, Jan 28
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 84 - 86
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 83 - 50
Thursday, Feb 04
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
L, 61 - 80
Friday, Feb 12
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 75 - 81
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 10 - All Day PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 11 - 8:30 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Saturday, Mar 12 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. 2016 Pac-12 Men's ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 15 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Four
Dayton, OH
Thursday, Mar 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Saturday, Mar 19 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regional ...
TBA
Saturday, Apr 02 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
Monday, Apr 04 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA National ...
Houston, TX
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS