Enter To Win Tickets - UCLA vs. Kentucky MBB
UCLA Earns Season Sweep of USC With 64-54 Victory

Feb. 15, 2012

Box Score | Box Score Get Acrobat Reader | Quotes | Postgame Video

LOS ANGELES - David Wear had 16 points and 13 rebounds and twin brother Travis Wear registered 14 points and 11 boards, helping UCLA beat USC, 64-54, on Wednesday night to sweep the season series between the crosstown rivals.

UCLA (14-11, 8-6 Pac-12) earned its first season sweep in the series since 2006-07.

"I'm really happy with the win," UCLA head coach Ben Howland said. "We knew USC would play inspired. We got a commanding lead early on, but they fought back. You have to give them credit for continuing to fight through adversity this late in the season."

Jerime Anderson tallied 14 points and dished five assists for UCLA, which led by double-digits for most of the night. The Bruins pushed their advantage to as many as 23 points with 11:28 to play in the second half.

UCLA held a 46-25 rebounding edge, recording its third consecutive victory over the Trojans (6-21, 1-13).

Byron Wesley scored 16 points and Garrett Jackson had 15 for USC, which put together a late push to make the final score more respectable.

Travis Wear recorded his first career double-double.

"Both Wears did well with their double-doubles," Howland said. "Jerime had a good line and played good defense all night."

UCLA never trailed in the win over USC, staking a 6-0 lead in the game's first 2:30 and opening its first double-digit lead on a jump shot from Anderson that put the Bruins ahead, 17-6, with 11:11 left in the first half. UCLA twice led by as many as 15 points in the opening half.

The Bruins owned a 31-16 cushion at halftime after Anderson nailed a basket with two seconds to play before intermission.

"I was disappointed with the Cal game, and I needed to use that as motivation," David Wear said. "I know I needed to come out and play harder and with a different mindset. It's easy to get motivated and focused for our rivals."

UCLA returns to action against St. John's at Madison Square Garden in New York on Saturday. Game time is 10 a.m. (PT). Saturday's contest will be televised nationally on CBS.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Oct 30
vs. Cal State Los ...
Los Angeles, CA
W, 95 - 57
Friday, Nov 13
vs. Monmouth
Los Angeles, CA
L, 81 - 84 (OT)
Sunday, Nov 15
vs. Cal Poly
Los Angeles, CA
W, 88 - 83
Thursday, Nov 19
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
W, 81 - 67
Monday, Nov 23
vs. UNLV
Lahaina, HI
W, 77 - 75
Tuesday, Nov 24
vs. Kansas
Lahaina, HI
L, 73 - 92
Wednesday, Nov 25
vs. Wake Forest
Lahaina, HI
L, 77 - 80
Sunday, Nov 29
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 77 - 45
Thursday, Dec 03 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Kentucky
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Dec 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 12 - 7:00 PM PST
at Gonzaga
Spokane, WA
Tuesday, Dec 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Louisiana-Lafayette
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Dec 19 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. North Carolina
Brooklyn, NY
Tuesday, Dec 22 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. McNeese State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 01 - 8:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Jan 03 - 6:30 PM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 09 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 13 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 8:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Saturday, Jan 23 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Thursday, Jan 28 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Jan 30 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 04 - 7:30 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 12 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Feb 14 - 5:30 PM PST
at Arizona State
Tempe, AZ
Thursday, Feb 18 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA