Don't have an account? Click Here

Kelyn Rowe Named To MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Courtesy: UCLA Athletics  
Release:  08/15/2011

Aug. 15, 2011

UCLA sophomore midfielder Kelyn Rowe has been named to the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List for the 2011 season. Rowe is one of just six sophomores on the 42-man list.

Rowe, who was named to College Soccer News' preseason All-America first team, was the 2010 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and an NSCAA Third Team All-American. He tied a UCLA freshman record a year ago with 10 assists to ranked first on the team and second in the Pac-10. Additionally, he ranked second on the Bruin squad with 24 points and seven goals.

A member of the U.S. Under-20 National Team, Rowe started for the U.S. at the 2011 CONCACAF Tournament and recorded three goals and one assist in tournament play.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA). Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

To view the full list of nominees, CLICK HERE.

UCLA has had two MAC Hermann Trophy winners - Brad Friedel, who won the Hermann Trophy in 1992, and Sasha Victorine, who won the MAC Trophy in 1999. The two awards were unified into the MAC Hermann Trophy in 2002.

‹ UCLA Men's Soccer

*UCLA 2015 #1 Football Jersey - Blue 
Price: $65.00
UCLA Football Poster Signed By Eric Kendricks Current: $200