No. 4 UCLA Advances to First-Place Game by Defeating No. 1 Cal, 6-4

Sept. 21, 2008

STOCKTON, Calif. - Sophomore Jacob Murphy scored a pair of goals and junior goalkeeper Chay Lapin registered 12 saves to lead the No. 4 UCLA men's water polo team past No. 1 California, 6-4, on Sunday afternoon at St. Mary's High School.

The Bruins (4-0) earned their first berth in the NorCal Tournament's first-place game since 2002 and recorded their first win over the Golden Bears (6-1) since Oct. 8, 2005.

UCLA will face No. 2 USC in the first-place match on Sunday at 5:20 p.m. at Pacific's Chris Kjledsen Pool.

Against California, the Bruins led the entire way. UCLA raced to a 2-0 lead after the first quarter and owned a 3-1 advantage at halftime. The Bruins outscored the Golden Bears, 2-1, in the third quarter to assume a 5-2 lead. California reduced the deficit in the fourth quarter, outscoring UCLA by a 2-1 margin.

Murphy registered his first multiple-goal effort of the young season, as the Bruins also received one goal from Scott Davidson, Cullen Hennessy, Krsto Sbutega and Russell Simpkins.

California goalkeeper Jacob Macintosh recorded five saves, and Michael Okinczyc totaled two stops.

No. 4 UCLA vs. No. 1 California

1 2 3 4 F
UCLA 2 1 2 1 6
California 0 1 1 2 4

UCLA Goals: Jacob Murphy 2, Scott Davidson, Cullen Hennessy, Krsto Sbutega, Russell Simpkins
UCLA Saves: Chay Lapin 12

California Goals: Ivan Rackov, Frank Reynolds, Mike Sample, Spencer Warden
California Saves: Jacob Macintosh 5, Michael Okinczyc 2


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 05 - 9:20 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Sep 05 - 1:20 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Concordia
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 1:50 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 11:45 AM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 2:15 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:20 AM PST
at Redlands
Redlands, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Whittier
Redlands, CA
Saturday, Sep 19 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Sep 19 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Sep 20 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Sep 20 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Chapman
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Alumni Match
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 4:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 03 - 12:00 PM PST
at Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 10 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 10 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - TBA PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 2:00 PM PST
at San Jose State
San Jose, CA
Saturday, Oct 24 - TBA PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Pacific
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 12:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - TBA PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. MPSF Championships - ...
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. MPSF Championships - ...
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS