NCAA Water Polo Champions 2015
UCLA Water Polo Nets Three of Six Cutino Award Finalists

May 8, 2012

SAN FRANCISCO - Three UCLA water polo players - KK Clark and Caitlin Dement of the women's team, and Josh Samuels of the men's team - have been named finalists for the Peter J. Cutino Award, as announced by the Olympic Club earlier this week.

The award is given to the outstanding female and male collegiate water polo players in the United States each season, as voted by the coaches of the Division I schools.

Clark, Dement and Stanford's Kiley Neushul are the three female finalists.

Samuels, along with USC goalkeeper Joel Dennerley and California's Ivan Rackov, had been previously announced as the three male finalists.

The winners will be announced Saturday, June 2, at the 13th Annual Cutino Awards Night Dinner at The Olympic Club's City Clubhouse in San Francisco.

Clark and Dement have helped lead UCLA to a No. 2 seed in this weekend's NCAA Tournament after the Bruins won the MPSF Tournament title with an 8-7 victory in the championship match against Stanford on April 21. Clark leads UCLA with 51 goals, and Dement has posted a 5.22 goals against average as the Bruins' starting goalkeeper.

Both Clark and Dement secured first-team All-MPSF honors, as announced last week by the conference office. Dement was also honored as the 2012 MPSF Player of the Year.

Samuels registered a team-leading 49 goals for the UCLA men's water polo team last fall. He guided the Bruins to their second MPSF Tournament title and NCAA Tournament runner-up finish in the last three seasons. The junior from Villa Park, Calif., led the Bruins with 48 steals and 19 field blocks as UCLA posted a 24-5 record.

The UCLA women's water polo team returns to action with a first-round NCAA Tournament match on Friday, May 11. Game time against No. 7-seed Iona at San Diego State University is 12 p.m.

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
No recent events