Men's Golf Begins 2010 Season at Fall Preview

Sept. 25, 2010

Follow UCLA Athletics on Twitter
UCLA Athletics on Facebook

The nationally ranked UCLA men's golf team will begins its 2010 season at the annual Fall Preview, hosted by Oklahoma State at Karsten Creek, Sept. 26-28.

Karsten Creek, one of the nation's most difficult collegiate courses, will play to a par of 72 over 7.407 yards with a slope of 152. The 15-team field includes top-ranked Oklahoma State, defending NCAA champion Augusta State and three teams from the Pac-10: UCLA, USC and Arizona State.

The Bruins, considered the youngest team in the NCAA Tournament last year, will be one of the most experienced in 2010-11. Four of the five starters will participate at the Fall Preview plus freshman Patrick Cantlay, who enjoyed an outstanding summer.

Juniors Gregor Main and Alex Shi Yup Kim each etched their names in the UCLA record books for scoring average last season. Kim earned first-team all-conference honors after improving his national ranking nearly 400 spots from his freshman season. Main's season average of 71.02 set a single season school record in 2010.

Sophomores Pontus Widegren and Pedro Figueredo each played more than 35 rounds a year ago and both earned second-team all-conference honors. Widegren recorded a 3-1 record in matches at the Palmer Cup in June.

Cantlay, a two-time Orange County Register high school Golfer of the Year, was ranked 14th in the World Amateur rankings after winning the 2010 California State High School Championship and placing second in the 2010 Southern Amateur.

For the complete results, click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Saturday, Feb 27 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Sunday, Feb 28 - All Day PST
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Monday, Mar 07 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Tuesday, Mar 08 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Wednesday, Mar 09 - All Day PST
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Thursday, Mar 24 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - All Day PST
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - All Day PST
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS