Don't have an account? Click Here
Tennis Live Stats

No. 12 Baylor Slips Past No. 6 UCLA, 4-3 in Waco
Courtesy: UCLA Athletics  
Release:  02/22/2009

Feb. 22, 2009

Waco, Texas - It what has turned out to be one of the hottest rivalries in all of college tennis, the sixth-ranked UCLA men's tennis team dropped a close 4-3 decision to No. 12 Baylor on Sunday afternoon at the Baylor Tennis Center.

The Bruins (6-3) dropped the doubles point Sunday after suffering losses at court Nos. 2 and 3. After UCLA's Haythem Abid and Amit Inbar took an 8-5 win at court No. 1, Baylor stormed back to win the final two matches, clinching it when Denes Lukacs and Maros Horny downed Michael Look and Nick Meister, 8-5 at court No. 3.

Look would avenge his doubles loss once singles began, as he was first to finish at court No. 3, downing Julian Bley, 6-0, 6-4. Baylor, however, would take the next two matches and move out to a 3-1 lead when Lukacs (court No. 1) and Attila Bucko (court No. 5) each posted straight-set wins.

UCLA eventually battled back to tie the match at 3-3, as Ahmed Ismail downed Horny, 6-4, 6-4 at court No. 6, and Meister dispatched of Dominik Mueller, 7-6(5), 6-4 at court No. 4.

With things all tied up, focus then turned to court No. 2, where Baylor's Jordan Rux and UCLA's Matt Brooklyn were in a three-set battle. Rux, who lost the first set 6-3, would eventually storm back to win the next two sets 6-1, 6-1, giving Baylor the 4-3 upset.

UCLA was playing Sunday's match without two of its top players, as both Harel Srugo and Holden Seguso were unable to play due to injury.

The Bruins and Bears have developed quite a rivalry in recent years, with both teams winning national championships after beating the other in the final. Baylor's title came in 2004, as the Bears defeated UCLA, 4-0 in the final match in Tulsa, Okla. The Bruins' championship came the following season, as UCLA defeated Baylor, 4-3 in a dramatic final in College Station, Texas. The two teams have met four more times since the 2005 NCAA Final, and all four meetings have been 4-3 decisions, with Baylor winning in 2006, 2008 and 2009. UCLA's 4-3 win came in 2007. Baylor leads the all-time series 5-2.

UCLA returns home next week, hosting No. 23 Cal on Friday at 1:30 p.m., and No. 7 Stanford on Saturday at 1:00 p.m.

1. Abid/Inbar (UCLA) def. David Galic/Rux (BU) - 8-5
2. Marc Bruche/Bucko (BU) def. Eugen Brazdil/Brooklyn (UCLA) - 8-5
3. Lukacs/Horny (BU) def. Look/Meister (UCLA) - 8-4
Baylor Wins Doubles Point -- Order of Finish: 1, 2, 3

1. #10 Denes Lukacs (BU) def. #74 Haythem Abid (UCLA) - 7-5, 6-3
2. #38 Jordan Rux (BU) def. #52 Matt Brooklyn (UCLA) - 3-6, 6-1, 6-1*
3. #93 Michael Look (UCLA) def. #121 Julian Bley (BU) - 6-0, 6-4
4. Nick Meister (UCLA) def. Dominik Mueller (BU) - 7-6(5), 6-4
5. Attila Bucko (BU) def. Amit Inbar (UCLA) - 6-4, 7-6(3)
6. Ahmed Ismail (UCLA) def. Maros Horny (BU) - 6-4, 6-4

* Denotes Clinching Match -- Order of Finish: 3, 1, 5, 6, 4, 2

‹ UCLA Men's Tennis

*UCLA 2015 #1 Football Jersey - Blue 
Price: $65.00
UCLA Football Poster Signed By Eric Kendricks Current: $200