No. 4 UCLA Men's Water Polo Edged by No. 3 California, 8-7

Oct. 20, 2007

PASADENA, Calif. - The No. 4 UCLA men's water polo dropped an 8-7 decision to No. 3 California on Saturday morning at the Rose Bowl Aquatic Center. Senior Marco Santos and sophomore Scott Davidson each led the Bruins (14-5, 1-2 MPSF) with two goals.

In a back-and-forth contest that featured four ties, the visiting Golden Bears (17-2, 2-0 MPSF) scored the game-winning goal with 21 seconds to play on a shot by senior Michael Sharf, who finished the day with a game-high three goals.

UCLA took the game's first lead, as Santos registered his first goal from two-meters just 33 seconds into the contest. California answered with 5:59 to play in the first quarter before Santos gave the Bruins a 2-1 advantage at 4:18 in the first frame. The Golden Bears received goals from Jeff Tyrrell and Vladislav Andreyev to take a 3-2 lead after the first quarter.

Bruin freshman Ben Hohl tied the contest, 3-3, with the lone goal of the second quarter at 2:39.

California took a 5-3 lead midway through the third frame on goals by Spencer Warden and Zachary White. Davidson capitalized on a penalty shot, cutting the Golden Bears' lead in half, 5-4, with 28 seconds remaining in the third quarter.

Trailing 6-4 after a goal by Tyrrell, UCLA scored three times to gain a 7-6 lead. Senior Justin Johnson netted the go-ahead goal with 4:10 remaining in the contest, scoring from two-meters. Sharf tied the contest, 7-7, for California at 3:50 in the final period before recording the game-winner with 21 seconds to play.

UCLA goalkeeper Chay Lapin tallied nine saves in the cage. California's Mark Sheredy recorded 10 stops.

The Bruins return to action against No. 13 Pacific in an MPSF match at Sunset Canyon Recreation Center on Sunday, Oct. 21, at 1 p.m.

No. 3 CALIFORNIA at No. 4 UCLA

1 2 3 4 F
California 3 0 2 3 8
UCLA 2 1 1 3 7

California Goals: Michael Sharf 3, Jeff Tyrrell 2, Vladislav Andreyev, Spencer Warden, Zachary White
California Saves: Mark Sheredy 10

UCLA Goals: Scott Davidson 2, Marco Santos 2, Ben Hohl, Justin Johnson, Kevin Kuga
UCLA Saves: Chay Lapin 9


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Saturday, Sep 05 - 9:20 AM PST
vs. UC Davis
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Sep 05 - 1:20 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 8:30 AM PST
vs. Concordia
San Diego, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 1:50 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
San Diego, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 11:45 AM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 2:15 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:20 AM PST
at Redlands
Redlands, CA
Sunday, Sep 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Whittier
Redlands, CA
Saturday, Sep 19 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Sep 19 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Sep 20 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Sep 20 - TBA PST
vs. NorCal Tournament
Stanford, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 11:00 AM PST
vs. ...
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Chapman
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Sep 26 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Alumni Match
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Oct 02 - 4:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 03 - 12:00 PM PST
at Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 10 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 10 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - TBA PST
vs. SoCal Tournament
Malibu, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - TBA PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Sunday, Oct 18 - 2:00 PM PST
at San Jose State
San Jose, CA
Saturday, Oct 24 - TBA PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Pacific
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 08 - 12:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Sunday, Nov 15 - TBA PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Quarterfinals
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Nov 21 - TBA PST
vs. MPSF Semifinals
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. MPSF Championships - ...
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Nov 22 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. MPSF Championships - ...
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS