UCLA's Cheney Named Top Drawer Soccer's Player of the Year

Nov. 9, 2007

LOS ANGELES - UCLA striker Lauren Cheney was named Top Drawer Soccer's National Player of the Year on Friday. Cheney, a first-team selection, was one of five Bruin players who were named to various 2007 Top Drawer Soccer All-Season Teams.

Cheney, a forward from Indianapolis, Ind., entered the week ranked second nationally in points per game (2.71) and third nationally in goals per game (1.12). She leads the Pac-10 in scoring with 46 points on 19 goals and eight assists. She also leads the conference in game-winning goals with seven. She has scored a goal in 12 of the Bruins' 17 matches this year, and currently takes a six-match scoring streak into the Bruins' final weekend of the regular season. It marks the second national honor of her career, as she was named Soccer Buzz National Freshman of the Year in 2006.

Also honored by Top Drawer Soccer on Tuesday were third-team selections Valerie Henderson and Lauren Barnes. Henderson, a senior goalkeeper, is tied for the Pac-10 lead in shutouts with seven, while Barnes, a freshman defender, is part of a defense that has surrendered just one goal in conference play this year.

Senior midfielder Danesha Adams and sophomore forward Kara Lang were honorable mention selections.

UCLA is currently the No. 1 ranked team in the nation, owning a 14-1-2 overall record.

The complete Top Drawer Soccer All-Season Teams can be located by clicking HERE


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Wednesday, Aug 12
vs. Missouri
Los Angeles, CA
0-0
Friday, Aug 21
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
L, 0 - 1
Sunday, Aug 23
at San Diego
San Diego, CA
W, 1 - 0 (2OT)
Sunday, Aug 30
vs. Wisconsin
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Friday, Sep 04 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Virginia
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Sep 06 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 11 - 4:00 PM PST
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, NC
Sunday, Sep 13 - 10:00 AM PST
at North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Thursday, Sep 17 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Sep 25 - 8:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Oct 04 - 11:00 AM PST
at Washington State
Pullman, WA
Friday, Oct 09 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 11 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Oct 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Oregon State
Corvallis, OR
Friday, Oct 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Colorado
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Oct 25 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Utah
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Oct 29 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Nov 01 - 3:30 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Friday, Nov 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Nov 13 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA First Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 20 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Second Round
TBA
Sunday, Nov 22 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Third Round
TBA
Friday, Nov 27 - TBA PST
vs. NCAA Quarterfinals
TBA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS