UCLA Comeback Falls One Run Short in Loss to Oregon

May 12, 2011

Box Score

EUGENE, Ore. - 11th-ranked Oregon scored six runs in the first two innings, only to see the 12th-ranked Bruins battle back with one in the third and four in the fourth, including a three-run homer by sophomore B.B. Bates, but UCLA fell one run short in a 6-5 loss to the Ducks on Thursday at Howe Field.

The Bruins fall to 32-16 overall and 8-11 in Pac-10 play, while the Ducks improve to 38-13 and 10-9 in league action.

Bates had two hits, as did junior Andrea Harrison, as the Bruins posted eight as a team. Senior Donna Kerr (12-8) struck out eight and allowed six runs (five earned) and nine hits in six innings.

The Ducks took advantage of some Bruin mistakes on defense in the bottom of the first to score twice. Courtney Ceo led off with a slap single that bounced off the third-base bag and stole second. Kelsey Chambers then laid down a bunt to senior GiOnna DiSalvatore at third, but her throw to first went into right field, allowing Ceo to score and Chambers to move to second. Kaylan Howard followed with a bunt single to third and stole second to put a pair of runners in scoring position.

One out later, Monique Fuiava tried to squeeze home Chambers, but Kerr flipped to freshman Alyssa Tiumalu at the plate for the second out. Kaitlin Vitek then grounded a ball to DiSalvatore, but it was bobbled, allowing Howard to score the Ducks' second run.

In the second, the Ducks got four runs on one swing of the bat. Oregon loaded the bases on singles by Alexa Peterson and Kailee Cuico and another single one out later by Ceo. One out later, Howard hit a grand slam just inside the left-field foul pole to make it 6-0.

The Bruins got a run back in the third. With one out, Bates slapped a single to third and freshman Kellie Fox walked. Harrison followed with a single to left to plate Bates with the Bruins' first run.

UCLA climbed back in it with four in the fourth, but not without a scary moment to lead off the inning. On an 0-1 pitch, junior Dani Yudin was hit on the back of the helmet by a Jessica Moore pitch. She stayed down on the field for about 20 minutes and was taken away by ambulance to a nearby hospital for precautionary reasons. She never lost consciousness on the field and was released later Thursday night.

Following the delay, the Bruins came back with a spirited rally. With junior Katie Schroeder running for Yudin, she moved to second on a groundout by Tiumalu and advanced to third on a single up the middle by Hall. One out later with DiSalvatore at the plate, Moore lost a grip on the ball during her windup, throwing it behind her and allowing Schroeder to score on a wild pitch to make it 6-2. After DiSalvatore walked, Bates went the opposite way on a 2-0 pitch for her ninth homer of the season to make it 6-5.

The Bruins had four baserunners in the final three innings, but were unable to complete the comeback.

The Bruins and the Ducks continue their three-game series on Friday at 6 p.m. Gametracker and free audio will be available at UCLABruins.com.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 12 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 12 - 1:00 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 10:15 AM PST
vs. Wichita State
College Station, TX
Saturday, Feb 13 - 3:15 PM PST
at Texas A&M
College Station, TX
Sunday, Feb 14 - 8:00 AM PST
vs. Colorado State
College Station, TX
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UCF
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Notre Dame
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Cal Poly
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. LSU
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Pacific
Cathedral City, CA
Thursday, Feb 25 - 5:30 PM PST
vs. Florida
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 9:30 AM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 9:00 AM PST
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:30 PM PST
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Lakewood, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 3:30 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 3:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Monday, Mar 21 - 4:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 26 - 12:30 PM PST
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 02 - 7:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Apr 03 - 2:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Saturday, Apr 09 - 7:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Apr 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 13 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 24 - 2:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Monday, Apr 25 - 7:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Apr 29 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 30 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 01 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS