Golfers Climb into Second Place at The Prestige

Oct. 16, 2006

The sixth-ranked UCLA men's golf team climbed into second place at The Prestige at PGA West on Monday. The Bruins trailed first-place Stanford by one shot entering the final round.

After the first round the Bruins trailed the Cardinal by six shots, but posted a 12-under par score of 276 in the second round to vault into contention. Stanford was atop the leaderboard at seven-under par 569, followed by the Bruins at six-under 570 and UC Irvine at 574 (-2). Minnesota was fourth at 580 (+4) and UC Davis was fifth at 588 (+12).

Individually, sophomore Luxas Lee was tied for fourth place at 141 (-3) after carding rounds of 74-67. Junior Kevin Chappell fired a 65 in the second round and was tied for seventh place at 143 (-1). Sophomore Erik Flores also was tied for seventh after posting rounds of 72-71. Senior Chris Heintz was tied for 19th at 146 (+2) following rounds of 73-73 and junior Daniel Im was tied for 48th at 153 (+9).

Jay Choe of UC Irvine was the leader in the clubhouse at 137 (-7) following rounds of 70-67.

Final round action continues on Tuesday.

For complete results click here.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Thursday, Feb 04
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Friday, Feb 05
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
Story
Saturday, Feb 06
vs. Amer Ari ...
Waikoloa, HI
2nd (-27, 837)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Story
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. The Hayt
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
8th (+30, 894)
Monday, Feb 29
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Tuesday, Mar 01
vs. TMC Spring ...
Santa Clarita, CA
Story
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Tuesday, Mar 08
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
Story
Wednesday, Mar 09
vs. Southern Highlands ...
Las Vegas, NV
15th (+60, 924)
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Friday, Mar 25
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
Story
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. The Goodwin
Stanford, CA
T-14th (+31, 871)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
Story
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. Western ...
Santa Cruz, CA
9th (+39, 1,089)
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, Apr 29 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Salt Lake City, UT
Monday, May 16 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Tuesday, May 17 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Wednesday, May 18 - All Day PST
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Friday, May 27 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Saturday, May 28 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Monday, May 30 - 11:30 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Tuesday, May 31 - 7:00 AM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
Wednesday, Jun 01 - 2:10 PM PST
vs. NCAA Championships
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS