UCLA's Season Ends with Four-Game Loss to Pepperdine

April 19, 2008

Box Score

Sixth-ranked ranked UCLA saw its season end in a four-game loss Saturday night to No. 5 Pepperdine at Pauley Pavilion.

Pepperdine won 30-27, 20-30, 30-21, 30-28 in front of 1,055 fans in two hours and five minutes. The victory enabled the Waves (14-10) to advance to the MPSF semifinals against conference champion Long Beach State. The Bruins (17-14) finished the season with their 45th postseason appearance in the last 46 seasons.

The match turned in Game 4 when the Bruins' four-point lead evaporated under the withering heat of Paul Carroll's serve. Carroll, the Waves' dominant All-American who didn't play in the Bruins' two earlier victories over their league rival, served three straight points, including a pair of aces to erase a 14-11 UCLA advantage. The two teams slugged it out until Pepperdine took a 25-22 lead on a kill by Carroll. Pepperdine never gave up that lead, although the Bruins whittled it to one four times. Carroll slammed the match-winner to put his team in the next round.

Carroll finished with 29 kills (.302) four aces and five total blocks for 36 points. Pepperdine freshman Cory Riecks added 22 kills (.429) and 25 points.

The Bruins, despite hitting .000 in Game 3, out-hit the Waves, .313-.286 and out-blocked them 16.0-13.0. But Pepperdine recorded 11 more kills and two more aces.

Four players recorded double-digit kills for the Bruins: junior Sean O'Malley and sophomore Garrett Muagututia smacked 13, and juniors Ryan Ratelle and Jamie Diefnebach added 12. Senior All-American libero Tony Ker finished a brilliant career with 15 digs, giving him a single season school record of 368. Ker also holds the national career digs record (1,220) and the UCLA single match mark (27).

UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Sunday, Jan 03 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. British Columbia
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Jan 05 - 4:00 PM PST
at George Mason
Fairfax, VA
Thursday, Jan 07 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Ohio State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 08 - 4:30 PM PST
at Penn State
University Park, PA
Friday, Jan 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Saturday, Jan 16 - 7:00 PM PST
at UC San Diego
La Jolla, CA
Wednesday, Jan 20 - 7:00 PM PST
at Cal Baptist
Riverside, CA
Saturday, Jan 23 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Monday, Jan 25 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Princeton
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Jan 27 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Jan 29 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 05 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Saturday, Feb 06 - 9:00 PM PST
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
Thursday, Feb 11 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 19 - 7:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 11:00 AM PST
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
Wednesday, Feb 24 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA