UCLA's Season Ends with Four-Game Loss to Pepperdine

April 19, 2008

Box Score

Sixth-ranked ranked UCLA saw its season end in a four-game loss Saturday night to No. 5 Pepperdine at Pauley Pavilion.

Pepperdine won 30-27, 20-30, 30-21, 30-28 in front of 1,055 fans in two hours and five minutes. The victory enabled the Waves (14-10) to advance to the MPSF semifinals against conference champion Long Beach State. The Bruins (17-14) finished the season with their 45th postseason appearance in the last 46 seasons.

The match turned in Game 4 when the Bruins' four-point lead evaporated under the withering heat of Paul Carroll's serve. Carroll, the Waves' dominant All-American who didn't play in the Bruins' two earlier victories over their league rival, served three straight points, including a pair of aces to erase a 14-11 UCLA advantage. The two teams slugged it out until Pepperdine took a 25-22 lead on a kill by Carroll. Pepperdine never gave up that lead, although the Bruins whittled it to one four times. Carroll slammed the match-winner to put his team in the next round.

Carroll finished with 29 kills (.302) four aces and five total blocks for 36 points. Pepperdine freshman Cory Riecks added 22 kills (.429) and 25 points.

The Bruins, despite hitting .000 in Game 3, out-hit the Waves, .313-.286 and out-blocked them 16.0-13.0. But Pepperdine recorded 11 more kills and two more aces.

Four players recorded double-digit kills for the Bruins: junior Sean O'Malley and sophomore Garrett Muagututia smacked 13, and juniors Ryan Ratelle and Jamie Diefnebach added 12. Senior All-American libero Tony Ker finished a brilliant career with 15 digs, giving him a single season school record of 368. Ker also holds the national career digs record (1,220) and the UCLA single match mark (27).


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 05
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(25-18, 20-25, 23-25, 18-25)
Saturday, Feb 06
at Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI
(22-25, 25-22, 19-25, 25-18, 15-9)
Thursday, Feb 11
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
(17-25, 25-18, 23-25, 26-24, 18-20)
Saturday, Feb 13
vs. UC San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-17, 25-18)
Friday, Feb 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
(32-30, 25-21, 25-19)
Sunday, Feb 21
at Stanford
Maples Pavilion- Stanford, CA
(21-25, 25-20, 22-25, 20-25)
Wednesday, Feb 24
vs. Cal Baptist
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 25-19, 25-13)
Saturday, Feb 27
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-20, 25-27, 25-16)
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
(21-25, 25-22, 25-18, 25-18)
Friday, Mar 04
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
(25-22, 25-15, 25-23)
Monday, Mar 07
vs. Ball State
Los Angeles, CA
(25-19, 25-18, 25-20)
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Concordia
Los Angeles, CA
(25-23, 25-21, 25-18)
Thursday, Mar 24
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
(19-25, 25-20, 23-25, 25-16, 15-7)
Saturday, Mar 26
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
(25-22, 25-22, 25-22)
Friday, Apr 01
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(17-25, 25-19, 25-27, 13-25)
Saturday, Apr 02
vs. Brigham Young
Los Angeles, CA
(25-20, 20-25, 18-25, 23-25)
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
(27-25, 25-18, 25-22)
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
(25-18, 21-25, 25-16, 25-23)
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Hawai'i
Los Angeles, CA
(25-16, 25-16, 22-25, 25-21)
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Long Beach State
Provo, UT
(26-24, 28-26, 25-19)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Brigham Young
Provo, UT
(20-25, 19-25, 25-18, 15-25)
Thursday, May 05 - 5:00 PM PST
vs. Ohio State or George ...
University Park, PA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS