Second-Ranked Bruins Knock Off Cal State Northridge

Feb. 23, 2011

Box Score | Video Recap

NORTHRIDGE, Calif. - Freshman Kellie Fox hit a grand slam, senior Katie Schroeder went 2-for-4 with a pair of RBI and freshman Jessica Hall tossed four innings of one-hit ball, as the second-ranked Bruins defeated Cal State Northridge 8-0 in five innings on Wednesday at Matador Diamond.

The Bruins improve to 10-1 overall, while the Matadors fall to 4-7.

Hall moved to 6-1 on the season, striking out three and allowing only a two-out walk in the first inning and a two-out bloop single to center in the third. Junior Aleah Macon made her season debut in the fifth, striking out two and walking one in an inning of work.

The Bruins got on the board in the top of the second. Freshman Alyssa Tiumalu led off with a double to right-center and came home on a single up the middle by sophomore Devon Lindvall to make it 1-0. Senior Amy Crawford then reached on a fielding error by Northridge second baseman Jaci Carlsen and both her and Lindvall moved up a base on a sacrifice bunt by freshman Talee Snow. Schroeder followed with a single to left-center to plate both runners to make it 3-0.

In the third, junior Andrea Harrison hit the first pitch she saw out to right field for her team-best fifth homer of the season to make it 4-0.

The Bruins hung a four-spot in the fourth on one swing of the bat. Snow walked to lead things off, and one out later, sophomore B.B. Bates singled to left and senior GiOnna DiSalvatore drew a free pass to load the bases. One out later, Fox connected on her third homer of the season to right to make it an 8-0 advantage.

The Bruins head to the Cathedral City Classic this weekend, facing three Top 10 teams over the first two days. On Friday, UCLA will take on #4/#5 Florida at 3:30 p.m. and #6/#6 Oklahoma at 6 p.m., while on Saturday the Bruins will face #8/#10 Tennessee at 3 p.m. Competition closes out on Sunday against Northwestern (9 a.m.) and Ohio State (11 a.m.). Gametracker and live audio will be available for all five games at UCLABruins.com.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 26
vs. Georgia
Cathedral City, CA
W, 14 - 6 (5)
Friday, Feb 26
vs. BYU
Cathedral City, CA
W, 9 - 4
Saturday, Feb 27
vs. Oklahoma
Cathedral City, CA
L, 7 - 11
Sunday, Feb 28
vs. Northwestern
Cathedral City, CA
L, 2 - 7
Wednesday, Mar 02
vs. Michigan
Los Angeles, CA
L, 6 - 8
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Florida State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 3
Friday, Mar 04
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Charleston Southern
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Syracuse
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. UC Davis
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 1 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Utah Valley
Lakewood, CA
W, 19 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Iowa State
Lakewood, CA
W, 7 - 1
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Princeton
Lakewood, CA
W, 13 - 1 (5)
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Long Beach State
Lakewood, CA
W, 3 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
at California
Berkeley, CA
W, 3 - 2 (9)
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
T, 3 - 3
Monday, Mar 21
at California
Berkeley, CA
Canceled
Thursday, Mar 24
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 9 (6)
Friday, Mar 25
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 6
Saturday, Mar 26
vs. Washington
Los Angeles, CA
W, 10 - 8
Tuesday, Mar 29
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
W, 5 - 4
Friday, Apr 01
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 16 - 6 (5)
Saturday, Apr 02
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
L, 5 - 6
Sunday, Apr 03
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
W, 4 - 1
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 9
Sunday, Apr 10
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Monday, Apr 11
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Wednesday, Apr 13
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 0
Friday, Apr 15
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Saturday, Apr 16
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 5
Sunday, Apr 17
vs. Oregon State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 0 (5)
Saturday, Apr 23
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 6
Sunday, Apr 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 4 - 8
Monday, Apr 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 8 - 7
Friday, Apr 29
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 8 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, May 01
vs. Arizona State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 9 - 4
Friday, May 06
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 15 - 7 (5)
Saturday, May 07
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 8 - 0 (6)
Sunday, May 08
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Rained Out
Friday, May 20
vs. CSU Bakersfield
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Saturday, May 21
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 3 - 2
Sunday, May 22
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Saturday, May 28 - 6:30 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 4:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, May 29 - 7:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS