No. 23 UCLA Baseball Downs No. 6 Arizona, 4-3, in 10 Innings

March 28, 2008

Box Score (HTML)
Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

TUCSON, Ariz. - Third baseman Jermaine Curtis tallied a career-high four hits Friday evening, fueling the No. 23 UCLA baseball team past No. 6 Arizona, 4-3 in 10 innings, before a crowd of 2,625 fans at Jerry Kindall Field. Left-hander Matt Drummond (1-2) recorded his first career victory, striking out two in 2.1 innings of relief.

Curtis went 4-for-5 with a team-high two runs for UCLA (11-9, 1-0 Pac-10). Shortstop Brandon Crawford went 2-for-4 with one run and one RBI. Second baseman Alden Carrithers keyed the Bruins' victory in extra-innings, tallying the game-winning RBI in the top of the 10th. Carrithers went 1-for-4 with one triple and two RBI.

Arizona right-hander Jason Stoffel (1-1) absorbed his first career loss, allowing one run and one hit in three innings of relief. Wildcat center fielder Jon Gaston led Arizona (13-8, 1-3 Pac-10) at the plate going 4-for-5 with one RBI.

The Bruins scored the game-winning run in the top of the 10th inning. Curtis belted a one-out triple to the gap in right-center field, and advanced home on the next at-bat, as Carrithers lifted a sacrifice fly to left field.

In a closely-contest ballgame, UCLA claimed a 2-0 lead in the top of the second. Designated hitter Cody Decker reached first and advanced to second on a throwing error. After moving to third base on a wild pitch, Decker scored on a double to center field by Crawford. A sacrifice bunt by first baseman Casey Haerther moved Crawford to third, and left fielder Brady Dolan followed with an RBI-single to right field.

Arizona sliced the Bruins' lead in half in the bottom of the fourth inning when designated hitter Colt Sedbrook lined an inside-the-park home run down the right field line.

The Wildcats took a 3-2 lead with two runs in the bottom of the seventh. Arizona tied the ballgame, 2-2, on a base hit through the right side by center fielder Jon Gaston, sending home third baseman Dwight Childs. First baseman C.J. Ziegler followed with a solo home run to left field, handing the Wildcats their first lead of the evening.

The Bruins tied the contest, 3-3, in the top of the eighth on an RBI-triple down the right field line by Carrithers. Curtis, who reached base with his third hit of the game, advanced home from second base on the play.

UCLA left-hander Tim Murphy allowed two runs and five hits in 6.2 innings, making his sixth start (seventh appearance) of the spring. Murphy recorded six strikeouts and issued five walks.

Arizona right-hander Preston Guilmet limited the visiting Bruins to two runs (one earned) and six hits in seven innings. The Wildcats' ace finished with five strikeouts and one walk. Neither starting pitcher earned a decision.

UCLA and Arizona resume their series at Jerry Kindall Field on Saturday. Game time is slated for 6 p.m.

Game Notes: UCLA's 4-3 victory at Arizona snapped a four-game losing streak...Arizona dropped its fifth consecutive game, its third straight Pac-10 contest...Alden Carrithers has hit safely in 16 of UCLA's 20 ballgames and leads the club with a .398 average.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Alumni Game
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 19 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Feb 21 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Feb 23 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Feb 26 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 6:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sunday, Feb 28 - 1:00 PM PST
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
Wednesday, Mar 02 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. NC Dinos
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 04 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 06 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 08 - 2:00 PM PST
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
Friday, Mar 11 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 12 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 13 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Mar 18 - 4:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Mar 19 - 2:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, Mar 20 - 12:00 PM PST
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 24 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Friday, Mar 25 - 6:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Saturday, Mar 26 - 1:00 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Tuesday, Mar 29 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 01 - 7:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 6:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Sunday, Apr 03 - 1:00 PM PST
at California
Berkeley, CA
Tuesday, Apr 05 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Apr 07 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 09 - 4:30 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 12 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 15 - 7:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Saturday, Apr 16 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Sunday, Apr 17 - 1:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Tuesday, Apr 19 - 3:00 PM PST
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Apr 26 - 7:30 PM PST
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
Friday, Apr 29 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Saturday, Apr 30 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, May 01 - 6:00 PM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS