No. 23 UCLA Baseball Downs No. 6 Arizona, 4-3, in 10 Innings

March 28, 2008

Box Score (HTML)
Box Score (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

TUCSON, Ariz. - Third baseman Jermaine Curtis tallied a career-high four hits Friday evening, fueling the No. 23 UCLA baseball team past No. 6 Arizona, 4-3 in 10 innings, before a crowd of 2,625 fans at Jerry Kindall Field. Left-hander Matt Drummond (1-2) recorded his first career victory, striking out two in 2.1 innings of relief.

Curtis went 4-for-5 with a team-high two runs for UCLA (11-9, 1-0 Pac-10). Shortstop Brandon Crawford went 2-for-4 with one run and one RBI. Second baseman Alden Carrithers keyed the Bruins' victory in extra-innings, tallying the game-winning RBI in the top of the 10th. Carrithers went 1-for-4 with one triple and two RBI.

Arizona right-hander Jason Stoffel (1-1) absorbed his first career loss, allowing one run and one hit in three innings of relief. Wildcat center fielder Jon Gaston led Arizona (13-8, 1-3 Pac-10) at the plate going 4-for-5 with one RBI.

The Bruins scored the game-winning run in the top of the 10th inning. Curtis belted a one-out triple to the gap in right-center field, and advanced home on the next at-bat, as Carrithers lifted a sacrifice fly to left field.

In a closely-contest ballgame, UCLA claimed a 2-0 lead in the top of the second. Designated hitter Cody Decker reached first and advanced to second on a throwing error. After moving to third base on a wild pitch, Decker scored on a double to center field by Crawford. A sacrifice bunt by first baseman Casey Haerther moved Crawford to third, and left fielder Brady Dolan followed with an RBI-single to right field.

Arizona sliced the Bruins' lead in half in the bottom of the fourth inning when designated hitter Colt Sedbrook lined an inside-the-park home run down the right field line.

The Wildcats took a 3-2 lead with two runs in the bottom of the seventh. Arizona tied the ballgame, 2-2, on a base hit through the right side by center fielder Jon Gaston, sending home third baseman Dwight Childs. First baseman C.J. Ziegler followed with a solo home run to left field, handing the Wildcats their first lead of the evening.

The Bruins tied the contest, 3-3, in the top of the eighth on an RBI-triple down the right field line by Carrithers. Curtis, who reached base with his third hit of the game, advanced home from second base on the play.

UCLA left-hander Tim Murphy allowed two runs and five hits in 6.2 innings, making his sixth start (seventh appearance) of the spring. Murphy recorded six strikeouts and issued five walks.

Arizona right-hander Preston Guilmet limited the visiting Bruins to two runs (one earned) and six hits in seven innings. The Wildcats' ace finished with five strikeouts and one walk. Neither starting pitcher earned a decision.

UCLA and Arizona resume their series at Jerry Kindall Field on Saturday. Game time is slated for 6 p.m.

Game Notes: UCLA's 4-3 victory at Arizona snapped a four-game losing streak...Arizona dropped its fifth consecutive game, its third straight Pac-10 contest...Alden Carrithers has hit safely in 16 of UCLA's 20 ballgames and leads the club with a .398 average.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
Friday, Feb 19
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 0 - 4
Saturday, Feb 20
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Sunday, Feb 21
vs. North Carolina
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 14
Tuesday, Feb 23
vs. Long Beach State
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 10
Friday, Feb 26
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 7 - 6
Saturday, Feb 27
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
W, 19 - 0
Sunday, Feb 28
at Cal Poly
San Luis Obispo, CA
L, 2 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 01
at UC Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA
L, 6 - 11
Friday, Mar 04
vs. Mississippi State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 2 - 1
Saturday, Mar 05
vs. Oklahoma
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Sunday, Mar 06
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 3 (14)
Tuesday, Mar 08
at CSUN
Northridge, CA
L, 12 - 20
Friday, Mar 11
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
L, 5 - 7
Saturday, Mar 12
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 4
Sunday, Mar 13
vs. Texas
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Mar 18
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 5 - 2
Saturday, Mar 19
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5 (12)
Sunday, Mar 20
vs. Washington State
Los Angeles, CA
W, 11 - 2
Thursday, Mar 24
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 1 - 6
Friday, Mar 25
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
W, 4 - 3
Saturday, Mar 26
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
L, 5 - 6
Tuesday, Mar 29
vs. Cal State Fullerton
Los Angeles, CA
L, 7 - 14
Friday, Apr 01
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 1 - 9
Saturday, Apr 02
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 2 - 8
Sunday, Apr 03
at California
Berkeley, CA
L, 3 - 5
Tuesday, Apr 05
vs. CSUN
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Thursday, Apr 07
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 1 - 4
Friday, Apr 08
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Saturday, Apr 09
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
L, 2 - 8
Tuesday, Apr 12
vs. Loyola Marymount
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 5
Friday, Apr 15
at Washington
Seattle, WA
W, 1 - 0
Saturday, Apr 16
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 7 - 8
Sunday, Apr 17
at Washington
Seattle, WA
L, 4 - 7
Tuesday, Apr 19
at Pepperdine
Malibu, CA
W, 10 - 6
Thursday, Apr 21
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 3
Friday, Apr 22
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 2
Saturday, Apr 23
vs. Oregon
Los Angeles, CA
W, 13 - 1
Tuesday, Apr 26
at Cal State Fullerton
Fullerton, CA
L, 7 - 10
Friday, Apr 29
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 6
Saturday, Apr 30
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
L, 4 - 9
Sunday, May 01
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
W, 10 - 3
Tuesday, May 03 - 6:00 PM PST
at Long Beach State
Long Beach, CA
Friday, May 06 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 07 - 2:00 PM PST
at UC Irvine
Irvine, CA
Sunday, May 08 - 1:00 PM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 10 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. Pepperdine
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, May 13 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, May 14 - 7:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, May 15 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, May 17 - 6:00 PM PST
vs. UC Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS