UCLA Tennis Update

Jan. 18, 2009

LOS ANGELES - Women's tennis players Andrea Remynse and Yasmin Schnack defeated Stanford's Hillary Barte/Lindsey Burdette on Sunday to take the doubles title at the National Collegiate Tennis Classic in Palm Desert, Calif. Several women's players were also in action at the Freeman Memorial Championships in Las Vegas, Nev., while the men's team was competing at the Sherwood Collegiate Cup in Thousand Oaks, Calif. over the weekend.

Remynse and Schnack advanced to Sunday's final with an 8-6 semifinal win over the top-seeded USC tandem of Amanda Fink/Gabriela Niculescu. They defeated third seeded Barte/Burdette, 9-8 to win the championship.

Schnack and Remynse both advanced to the quarterfinals in singles at the NCTC. Schnack fell to top-seeded Maria Mosolova of Northwestern, 0-6, 7-5, 6-2, while Remynse fell to USC's Maria Sanchez, 6-1, 6-1.

Carling Seguso, Nina Pantic, Ashley Joelson and Anna-Viktoria Lind were all in action at the Freeman Memorial Championships in Las Vegas. With no players in either the main draw or consolation finals, the Bruin players took part in additional matches set up by the tournament on Sunday. Seguso downed UNLV's Katy Williams, 6-3, 6-4, while Pantic was a 6-3, 6-2 winniver over North Carolina's Jelena Durisic. Ashley Joelson teamed with Seguso to defeat Florida's JoAnna Mather/Barbara Pinterova, 9-7. Pantic and Lind were also winners, downing Georgia Tech's Sasha Krupina/Christina Ngo, 9-8.

Matt Brooklyn led the men's contingent at the Sherwood Collegiate Cup over the weekend, advancing to the semifinals in both singles and doubles. In singles, he was beaten by USC's Robert Farah, 7-5, 6-2 on Sunday. Brooklyn and teammate Holden Seguso also fell in the semifinals of doubles, losing to Farah and Steve Johnson, 8-5.

Both the UCLA men's and women's tennis teams open up the 2009 dual-match season next week. The Bruin women will host Cal State Northridge on Wednesday at 1:30 p.m. The men open up the season on Thursday at the Los Angeles Tennis Center, taking on BYU at 1:30 p.m.


EVENT INFORMATION
UCLA Health Sponsor - Event Information
LIVE NOW
vs. Bruin Racqueteer Day
Los Angeles, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. NCTC Tournament
Palm Springs, CA
-
LIVE NOW
vs. Sherwood Collegiate ...
Thousand Oaks, CA
-
Wednesday, Jan 20
vs. San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Maui, HI
-
Saturday, Jan 23
vs. SMU
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
Sunday, Jan 24
vs. Georgia Tech
Los Angeles, CA
W, 4 - 0
LIVE NOW
vs. Tennis Championships ...
Dallas, TX
-
Saturday, Jan 30
vs. Georgia
Los Angeles, CA
W, 6 - 1
LIVE NOW
vs. Florida
Los Angeles, CA
-
Friday, Feb 05
vs. San Diego
Los Angeles, CA
W, 7 - 0
Tuesday, Feb 09 - 3:00 PM PST
at Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
Friday, Feb 12 - All Day PST
vs. USTA/ITA National ...
Charlottesville, VA
Saturday, Feb 20 - 10:00 AM PST
vs. UC Irvine
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Feb 27 - 1:00 PM PST
at Stanford
Stanford, CA
Tuesday, Mar 01 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. USC
Los Angeles, CA
Thursday, Mar 03 - All Day PST
vs. Pacific Coast ...
La Jolla, CA
Thursday, Mar 10 - 2:30 PM PST
vs. Baylor
Los Angeles, CA
Tuesday, Mar 22 - 1:00 PM PST
at UNLV
Las Vegas, NV
Friday, Mar 25 - 5:00 PM PST
at Oregon
Eugene, OR
Sunday, Mar 27 - 12:00 PM PST
at Washington
Seattle, WA
Friday, Apr 01 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. Stanford
Los Angeles, CA
Saturday, Apr 02 - 3:00 PM PST
vs. California
Los Angeles, CA
Friday, Apr 08 - 1:30 PM PST
at Arizona
Tucson, AZ
Sunday, Apr 10 - 11:00 AM PST
at Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Sunday, Apr 17 - 3:00 PM PST
at USC
Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, Apr 20 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Thursday, Apr 21 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Friday, Apr 22 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships
Ojai, CA
Saturday, Apr 23 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
Sunday, Apr 24 - All Day PST
vs. Pac-12 Championships ...
Ojai, CA
BRUINS ON PAC-12 NETWORKS